Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-02-2009, 12:31 PM   #1
Mickeal_alex
Registered User
 
Mickeal_alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help with a script

Ok so i just downloaded the cvxporter from here http://www.chadvernon.com/downloads/cvxporter/

And i dont know how to make it work, and i absolutely need this exporter for a project. Can anyone help me please
__________________
Using the latest version of Maya!!!!
My ultimate goal is perfection!!!!
Mickeal_alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 12:47 PM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Have you read down the page, it gives quite good details on how to install it and use it...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 12:56 PM   #3
Mickeal_alex
Registered User
 
Mickeal_alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried and i doesnt work. I copied the script to the scripts directory. Then i wrote those commands in the schipt editor and it says Syntax error
__________________
Using the latest version of Maya!!!!
My ultimate goal is perfection!!!!
Mickeal_alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 01:05 PM   #4
Mickeal_alex
Registered User
 
Mickeal_alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I solved the problem. The script editor was set to mel and it was supposed to be set to Python.
__________________
Using the latest version of Maya!!!!
My ultimate goal is perfection!!!!
Mickeal_alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 08:42 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

you're first clue should have been that it has the .py extension, but assuming you don't see your files with the extension your next clue would be the code itself...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 09:16 PM   #6
Mickeal_alex
Registered User
 
Mickeal_alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I knew that is was for python but you know that the script editor has 2 shelves(Mel and Python), and i thought that is was already set as python.
__________________
Using the latest version of Maya!!!!
My ultimate goal is perfection!!!!
Mickeal_alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 09:21 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

aah.. that sucks >.<
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 09:22 PM   #8
Mickeal_alex
Registered User
 
Mickeal_alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well my bad i guess
__________________
Using the latest version of Maya!!!!
My ultimate goal is perfection!!!!
Mickeal_alex is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.