Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-03-2009, 03:30 AM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default Question Color Texture Displacement FUN

Alright I dont' know if you saw the Champy WIP I had going on but this is more about it and hoped I'd get a faster response in here than in my thread.

Here's the breakdown of it all
Modeled in maya, poly
Layed out UV's in maya
Exported to Mudbox
Edited in mudbox
Imported back into maya and placed displacements from mudbox into file
Created Blin for the creature for texturing done in photoshop
Colored just quickly over the UVs in photoshop for a test
Imported edited UV's under color in the blin

And here is what I come up with

UV's screenshot with paint over top of it:


Scene rendered in mental ray:


Screen shot of the scene in maya (looks alright in the viewport):


Screenshot of hypergraph window and the blinn highlighted just incase this info is needed:


any ideas what the problem could be? Am I painting on the UV's and installing them wrong or something? I've never had an issue like this before, then again I've never used displacement or mudbox before. I'm completely lost at the moment with this issue, hopefully I described it good enough, if not ask and I will answer hopefully we can get this working.


Edit:
I rendered for the fun of it in maya software and since it doesn't render the displacement map the color is solid and not messed up like in the rendered picture in mental ray.
The displacement map is a .exr file because from a video I watched thats the way it read them or something. I couldn't get it to work as a tiff or targa file
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com

Last edited by Rhetoric Camel : 04-03-2009 at 03:55 AM.
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 10:00 PM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

One more bit of information since it seems no one has any ideas



Does it maybe have something to do with these settings? I lowered the Min and Max Subd's From 3 and 5 to 2 and 4 and it seemed to render a bit faster so I kept those settings.

Is there something here I'm missing? I feel like it should not be giving me as much problems as it is giving me.

Edit: Am I supposed to link the Blinn and the displacement map together? I've run out of ideas I've tried just about everything I can think of except linking the two together since I have no idea how to do that.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com

Last edited by Rhetoric Camel : 04-03-2009 at 10:39 PM.
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:30 PM   #3
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

... your using that texture you posted as your displacement map?
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:50 PM   #4
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Nope I'm using this as my displacement (which is an .exr which I brought in from mudbox)



Another thing I did, I colored the entire layer in photoshop over the UV's one color:

brought it in maya as a test, and it worked fine, no blotching or anything like that, just a solid color, looks good:


But when I don't color the WHOLE LAYER (like it looks in my first post up above) it comes out like I posted also in the original post

I'm so baffled at this, and it's getting pretty frustrating. I don't want to do just one solid color like that so obviously this is kind of a pain in the butt...
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com

Last edited by Rhetoric Camel : 04-03-2009 at 11:59 PM.
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:50 AM   #5
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Do a checker UV test pattern on it, failing that post your scene, disp and color map.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:58 AM   #6
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by LauriePriest
Do a checker UV test pattern on it, failing that post your scene, disp and color map.
Here is the checker UV Test Pattern:



I have the displacement map shown up above and there is no color map, unless you mean the uv's I painted over in photoshop then applied to the blinn, which that is also posted up above.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 08:18 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Arran had the same problem not too long ago, its due to the smoothing method used by maya if I remember correctly,

Found the link for you

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=31875

Hope it helps

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 03:27 PM   #8
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

ah that old bug, i think they fixed it in 2009 version:

Grabbed this from the release notes for mental ray:

For ccmesh objects with displacement, apply vertex displacement for the estimation of subdivision level to be used. This solves possible shading artifacts for object areas close to the camera plane.


From the looks of your model in viewport displacement aproximation should do the job for this one. Dump the subdiv or make sure it doesnt export as CC.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:59 AM   #9
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

thanks for the help I will definitely give this a try either tonight or tomorrow afternoon and let you know how it worked out for me. And just because I didn't mention it, I am using 2009 so I'm not expecting this to work but I will give it a shot. Thanks again and I'll reply again later on.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 01:31 AM   #10
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

gster: I tried what was used in the link, the little mel script and it did some weird things to my object, but thanks for the help I appreciate it.

LauriePriest: I deleted the subdivision Approx. and did the Displacement Approx. changed it to spatial and changed the Min Subd and Max Subd to 2 and 4 (same settings I used when it was the subd approx) and it worked out fine, render time doubled but for now it's worth it, thank you very much for the help I appreciate it very much.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 08:52 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

No probs! Its worth keeping different things in mind when your doing a job.

I think the CC only came in in 2008 to mess everyone up
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.