Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-03-2009, 02:56 AM   #1
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default Rotate screwing up

Hey guys,

Got a quick problem… I'm trying to rotate an object, and instead of regularly rotating it, it's rotating it and skewing it at the same time.

Have no idea how this happened and I've never seen it before, but it's annoying me. lol

-Steven Palmesano
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 03:14 AM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Alright I had this problem before but I'm not completely sure I remember how I fixed it, I believe it's under the camera attribute editor and it was something like the focal length being set to some odd number, it should be at 35

if thats not it sorry, I will try to remember what else it could have been.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 03:52 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No, it has to do with objects, not the camera. And it's only a couple of them which is odd.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 03:57 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You may have some objects double grouped.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 05:38 AM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

or change your rotate tool to world space or object space or whatever... you can break the rotate tool with about 3 rotates but i cant remember how
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 01:16 AM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by GecT
You may have some objects double grouped.
Thanks, it was that… haven't used Maya for a while so I couldn't figure it out. lol
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.