Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-04-2009, 12:17 PM   #1
nianto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cannot find Polygon Sphere Options

heji,

i'm a beginner in maya, and i'm trying to learn it by myself, with a book. Now i'm at a loss with somethin the book told me. :headbang:
It says: go to create/polygon primitives/spehre and open the optionsbox.
but i find a optionbox nowhere. where is it.

maybe someone could tell me quickly. i would be truly grateful

(i'm just at the beginning of the book^^):attn:

nianto

edit. i work with autodesk maya 2008 for mac (maybe it's important to know^^)

Last edited by nianto : 04-04-2009 at 12:27 PM.
nianto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:35 PM   #2
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

The option box is the little square just to the right of the word sphere in the drop down menu. Click on it and the option box menu will open. Good luck with your studys!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:47 PM   #3
nianto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

aaah 'bangs head on the desk*

never thougt about this little box, didn't know, it's the option box^^

thank you very much (i guess you will hear from me again the next days
-it's so much fun, cannot wait to learn more
nianto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:53 PM   #4
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

It's ok, we all have to start at some point knowing nothing and it can be quite daunting at first with a program as complex as Maya, don't worry, with a lot of determination and practice it'll get easier. Good luck!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:14 PM   #5
nianto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what can be the problem if i can't activate the points of a sphere individually, just the whole sphere? (want to use the soft modification tool for some points)
nianto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:18 PM   #6
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Have you tried to select the sphere, right click and hold, a marking menu comes up with the options to select faces, edges, vertices etc? You can then select the vertices and control them individually.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:40 PM   #7
bluemana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here some useful tips:
1) Press "space" and quick release it, you can alternate the view ports using it

2) Press "space" and hold, it will open a menu.

3) Press "f" while selecting a object (can be vertices, edges and faces) it will focus on the desired object.
bluemana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 02:28 PM   #8
nianto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that's what came out of the soft modification tool:

i wasn't able to pull out strings/strangs (don't now what's called in english), just make such bows or curves.

what did i wrong?

(another question: what do i have to do to get this box/square around my objekt?)

ah and what does the "S" mean??

Last edited by nianto : 06-04-2009 at 04:52 PM.
nianto is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.