Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-01-2003, 10:15 PM   #1
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Ugly texture sliding and stretching

Me again,

(how come i'm suddenly the asking part )

How do I avoid the ugly texture sliding and stretching in a bulging and waving nurbs surface? Check this animation and see what I mean. The weird looking currents are caused by this...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 10:34 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

cool.

You might need a Texture Reference object for your surface. Select your surface, and under the Render Menues, Texturing > Create Texture Reference Object.

That's what it looks like anyway. I may be mistaken. It's looking cool!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 10:45 PM   #3
pitbull
Registered User
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what is a texture ref object?
__________________
:-)
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 10:57 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It apparantly interacts with 3D textures in some manner that keeps them from "sliding" over the surface. You almost have to use them when dealing with animating a surface with 3D textures applied.

I'm not sure if kbrown's situation is using 3D textures or not, but the results are very similar.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 11:08 PM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I am using now (after reading what the online help had to say about these thingies) .
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 11:15 PM   #6
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I knew there had to be an easy answer. Thanks mate!

I've been banging my head on this the whole night . Tried some really odd ways and got some rather interesting results (which didn't resemble an ocean at all) ...

Thanks!
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 11:38 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

cool, hope it works for you.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2003, 08:04 PM   #8
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Oh dear... one obstacle behind, another one ahead.

Everything seemed to be working ok except... batch renderer gives different results than the render view in maya.

I was wondering why wasn't my textures moving even if i animated the place3dTexture nodes. Then I discovered that in the maya render view they do move but when batch rendered they don't... sound's like a bug to me... anyone?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2003, 08:33 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

that does sound strange

....

hmmmm....
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2003, 09:21 PM   #10
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I found a solution. It seems that the batch renderer does not handle expressions. The place3dTexture movement was driven by an expression but now I just keyframed them and it works... phew...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2003, 10:03 PM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

ah... still, I would think the batch render would take expressions into account. It does sound like a buggy thing.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.