Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-05-2009, 07:11 PM   #1
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hayabusa Jet Bike

THis is a school project I have been working on for a while, I used bits and pieces from the Jet speeder tutorial to do some of the engine modeling, but basically used images planes of a hayabusa, and just made random elemts to give the engine a bit more complexity.
[IMG]http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w300/soulrider911


Hayabusa Turn Table



















[IMG]http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w300/soulrider911/Hayabusa/speeder15.jpg
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP

Last edited by Soulrider911 : 07-05-2009 at 08:51 PM.
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 09:45 PM   #2
CGWolfgang
Subscriber
 
CGWolfgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 224
Thanks: 10
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

First things first...Awesome Job! Its a wonderful model and I love the texturing you've done with it. It's also neat to see how you've adapted the concepts in one of the tutorials into your own work. :bow:

The only area that seems to have a little trouble is the handlebars/dashboard area. The handlebars seem a little less detailed than the rest of the model. Maybe adding a little more detail to the handlebars like handguards/ handbrakes or a starter switch/ignition system? As far as the dashboard it seems like it would be more in-keeping with the futuristic look if it had a digital dash instead of a more classic analog dash.

Anyway that's just my two cents. Keep up the great work!
__________________
~To create a new world through the imagination
CGWolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 10:04 PM   #3
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dude great idea i had not thought of that...Yes I agree entirely with your critique...I plan on making those changes but probably not until this semester is over... this project has killed me and Im out of energy for it currently, but yes the dash and bars need some love. THanks for the kind words.
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:49 AM   #4
joshmanlegoman
Registered User
 
joshmanlegoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hawaii
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What sort of gas are you running this thing off of?
( noticed the gas tank ).

And what are you steering?

But looks very Cool cheers
__________________
JoSh
joshmanlegoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 08:31 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

nice job - i like this a lot. aside form the other comments - the textures look a bit too low res. i also think the jet sticker could be a touch smaller and i think it needs something to make it pop.

i really like what you've done so far.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 05:43 AM   #6
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the input,,,Yea as far as the low res texturing is that just a matter of importing, or exporing or both... a higher res uv screenshot?
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 11:49 PM   #7
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a question I have been trying to get an answer for...say I creat a shader...like a lanbert for example bright pink(my favorite) and I want that shader to loaded in maya with the other default shaders..how do I go about that? thanks
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:58 AM   #8
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You can just make a preset instead.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:43 PM   #9
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

would you mind elaborating? thanks
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 05:45 AM   #10
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You can save presets for materials, lights, cameras and all that other good stuff. You can take this route or export the shader, put it in a folder that will be your shader library, get back in Hypershade, up at the top where it says Tabs, make a new one, name it, select tab type to be 'disk' and point it to your shader library, now you can add and grab different shaders as you wish.



Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 06:31 PM   #11
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So after I save the shader out as a preset where does it go??? when open maya back up its no where to be found? thanks for the help
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 06:32 PM   #12
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is the final animation, I know I gotta go back in a create more hi res textures just havent had the time. http://www.blog.bradysammons.com
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 07:22 PM   #13
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Ha not bad If you hit that very same preset button on any shader of that kind it should be there unless your preferences aren't being saved and that I can't help you with as I've never had that issue but I've seen it around the boards.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.