Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-05-2009, 11:39 AM   #1
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default baking a simualtion???

Just a quick simulation/ baking animation question if i did i rigid body simulation can i bake that animation onto an object and if yes how
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 12:24 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Not sure exactly what you mean, do you mean if you run a simulaton and are happy with the results you want to be able to bake those out? If so you can select the RB geometry and under thge animation menuset use the geometry cache options.

If your after something else give a little more info.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 12:14 AM   #3
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

well im running a simulation using a plug-in called dmm and its given awesome results but i then want to take the sim into realflow but im thinking ive read somewhere that you can bake animations so it wont actually be running a simulation anymore but the animation will still be their.
more info: like if you could plot all the simulation data into keyframes
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2009, 12:33 PM   #4
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you want to export the animation to realflow you can use the .fbx exporter. You may have to load the plugin, it should come up in the export options.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.