Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-05-2009, 01:49 PM   #1
FairyFire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help with 2 questions

Hi everyone.
Im trying to make a model that I can send in with my portfolio of my art to a school, so I amvery new to maya and this is my first attempt of a character.

I have come across a weird thing that should be easy to fix
See the img and you see that the vertex are allways highlighted purpole. I must have hit a key or something to activate it. How do I deactivate it?




Im also wondering is there a way I could hide the vertex and lines in the back of my char when I am modeling in the front. Some times I think its hard to tell wich lines are in front and in the back in the front/side view.


Im very thankfull for any help.

Last edited by FairyFire : 14-05-2009 at 01:58 PM.
FairyFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 03:48 PM   #2
shadowspy
Registered User
 
shadowspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can select the mode by holding the RMB on the mesh. You are in vertex mode. By pressing space you can switch to different views

EDIT: pressing numbers on your keyboard also switches render mode.

4 - wireframe
5 - shaded
6 - with textures

Hope this helps!
shadowspy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 03:52 PM   #3
FairyFire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. sry will post another picture to describe better Its that the vertex is allways shown.

examaple: I am now in object mode not vertex mode.

Last edited by FairyFire : 14-05-2009 at 03:55 PM.
FairyFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 05:34 PM   #4
FairyFire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok I figured out the second Q after a while of googeling that its called backface culling. How do I activate this on Maya 2009?
FairyFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 05:34 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Go to Display>Polygons>Vertices.

Backface culling is also under the polygon display I mentioned above, probably be a good idea to assign a hotkey to that.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 05:35 PM   #6
FairyFire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by GecT
Go to Display>Polygons>Vertices.
thanks

And backface culling is

Display>Polygons>costum poligon display.

Thanks both of you for the fast help.
FairyFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 05:45 PM   #7
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Your welcome, and yeah its there too but its also at the top of the poly display menu which is faster to access :X
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 05:47 PM   #8
FairyFire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sweden
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by GecT
Your welcome, and yeah its there too but its also at the top of the poly display menu which is faster to access :X
Nothing seems to happen when I press that button.

Is there away one can asign Backface culling to only certain camera views. like the side and front view, And keep it as it is in the perspective view?
FairyFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2009, 07:28 PM   #9
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

backface culling has always been a bit flaky in maya I think (as in not working sometimes).

Since you're using 2009, in the tool settings for, check camera based selection and try that.

Hope it helps

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2009, 11:13 PM   #10
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default


hmmmmm.........
backface culling always annoying me..........itz not working plz help.........i'm d beginner
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.