Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-05-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
fox95871
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Texturing objects separately

I have two world meshes, one for the land and the other for the ocean. When I load the land texture, they both get textured with it. Even if I select just the ocean mesh and load the ocean texture, they then both get textured with the ocean texture!

How can I get two different textures on two different meshes?
fox95871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 04:25 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I think you have the same shader assigned to both meshes. Probably should hit the help docs on working with shaders.

Edit: Make it a habit NOT to mess with the "lambert1" shader or the initial shading group. Its made whenever you make a new scene and is automatically assigned to new geometry so they can be rendered.

Last edited by GecT : 24-05-2009 at 01:58 AM.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 12:23 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

are you assigning new materials to each object?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 03:05 AM   #4
lillsnopp
Registered User
 
lillsnopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Texturing objects separately

Originally posted by fox95871
I have two world meshes, one for the land and the other for the ocean. When I load the land texture, they both get textured with it. Even if I select just the ocean mesh and load the ocean texture, they then both get textured with the ocean texture!

How can I get two different textures on two different meshes?
Yeah, like Genevieve said, sounds like you used the lambert to add your texture. I know I did that and where scratching my head when I started with Maya.
lillsnopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2009, 11:18 AM   #5
blacksuness
Registered User
 
blacksuness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Thailand
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

__________________
55555
blacksuness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2009, 03:40 PM   #6
fox95871
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I'll try what you all suggested and let you know how it worked later this week.
fox95871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2009, 03:00 PM   #7
fox95871
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Awesome, thanks! Here's what I did...

After some searching in the docs for shaders, all I could find was some stereo instruction sounding stuff like "for more information go here" and once there "for more information go here" etc., so I just went to the much friendlier cracker box tutorial I remembered, and in practically no time I relearned about right clicking the object and hitting Assign new material, and from there I was able to figure out the rest on my own. For both objects I: hit the black and white checkered icon next to the color slider, hit File on the window that came up, then back on the previous window hit the folder icon to select my bmps. Now each one has it's own separate shader and texture!

Just one more quick question since it sort of relates. As far as the lambert and other shaders are concerned, to any seasoned Maya veterans, what shader is: full bright, no specular, and basically like an origami sphere over a lightbulb so the texture always looks exactly like it did in Photoshop from any angle? The reason I'm asking is because I'm importing to Blitz3D and I want it to be as close to the settings I have there as possible when I work with it in Maya. Having some sides getting darker because their orientation to the camera changes really messes up my perception since it won't be doing that at all in the game. I've temporarily solved this problem by putting the incandescence for lambert all the way up. It looks right, but I don't know what I'm doing.

Since I'm new to this forum I want to contribute now by saying, to anyone who uses Maya for making Blitz3D media, remember: always make sure you make your models white before exporting them! If you don't, and just use the default grey color, your textures will all show up way too dark in the game. I don't know if many people here use Blitz, but it could be true for other applications as well.

Last edited by fox95871 : 27-05-2009 at 03:04 PM.
fox95871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2009, 04:32 PM   #8
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

try the material called "surface shader".

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2009, 04:47 PM   #9
fox95871
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I'll try that.
fox95871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.