Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-06-2009, 07:28 PM   #1
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default displacement mapping

hi all. a little while ago when i made some guns for a half life mod i had a few conversations with some people who mentioned displacement mapping as an important technique to learn for games modelling. Then last week after seeing kurts use in his showreel I thought id come back to having a go. I did follow a youtube tutorial back when i was doing the guns but the couple that i was practicing on were quite complicated geometry wise i think to have the time to make mistakes on, so i left it alone.

I thought id have another go, just following a tutorial from a book that i have. In that tutorial the example uses a single poly plane to create some mountainous terrain with a 3D crater texture. I thought Id take the idea a little further, use a cube, and make my own texture in photoshop, just some random lines and squares and such. But in applying the displacement map, the geometry of the cube has broken at the seems. I have created a mental ray approximation node as the following example in the book...'Mastering Maya 2009' ...does this, but this hasn't solved the problem. If I can post the before and after shots below, would anyone be able to tell me how I can fix the problem. or is it just a case that for 3dimensional objects, i.e, not planes, u have to do the transfer maps technique.
Attached Thumbnails
 
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:29 PM   #2
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

and with displacement map...
Attached Thumbnails
 
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2009, 06:36 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

what are the settings on your approximation node and which one are you using? surface or displacement?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2009, 01:13 PM   #4
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

Hi Chirone. The example in the post was just a quick play I had before I went out last week. I have the scene saved but I changed something which I can't remember now and Im not getting the same results as in the picture. I've just tried to recreate it from scratch, but Im getting different results entirely.

Since I first posted this thread Ive had a little play with a couple of other displacement tests. I don't think I quite understood when I did the one in the pictures in my first posts that you create the approximation node for the object. I think I thought you created for the renderer, if you see what I mean, so it's possible I just didn't have the object selected when I created the approximation node.

As I've understand it from google searching, the option to go for is the subdiv option, then select the distance/length/angle option. That seems to be the majority options people set from the seaches I've done. But it's confusing. I don't really understand what all the different options for the approx node do, and I seem to get different results each time, even when I'm pretty sure I'm setting up my object i.e, basic poly cube at the origin, and my material, the same way.

Id like to feel confident I can create some nice displacement cause remember when I worked with source engine for a bit? I made those guns? A comment I got from an ex-tutor of mine, was that I should learn how to do displacement mapping, to add the detail to low poly objects. I tried a brief experiment with a flamethrower model I made for the mod, but the results were pretty funny, the whole low res ballooning thing. Gotta rush to work now. I shall try and add some more useful information to the discussion later on!
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.