Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-06-2009, 05:03 PM   #1
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Computer question for the tech geeks

Hey guys so im looking to upgrade my computer. Here are the specs. thanks guys i appreciate it, ill check back later i have an interview to get ready for!! Wish me luck

Amd phenom 9850 BE 2.5ghz
MSI K9A2 platinum 790fx motherboard
4gigs ddr2 1066
500gig HD
Ati radeon hd3870 512mb

Im looking right now what would help me render/simulate faster. Heres some of the componets im looking at

CPU Is there much of a difference between this and my current one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103471


RAM i was thinking of maxing my mobo since its dead cheap right now. which would be 8gigs

GPU do to some issue my ati is having with houdini. Im going to go with nvidia. Is there a huge diff between a game card vs workstation?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133273

Last edited by WynterNyght : 18-06-2009 at 05:18 PM.
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2009, 12:26 AM   #2
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I expect ram is the biggest bang for your buck, especially since you can softmod a "low end" radeon or geforce to a "high end" firegl or quadro... (don't try the geforce to quadro in windows 7 yet :<)... look it up on google if you don't know softmodding, there's lots of stuff. Pretty sweet.
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2009, 05:27 PM   #3
WynterNyght
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Petersrin! I will look that up. My card was fine in maya and xsi, but in houdini there can be slow view port manipulation, or almost freeze like lags.
WynterNyght is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.