Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-07-2009, 05:59 AM   #1
RexRat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question selecting a control vertex

I am very new to Maya, and I have a question that I think is simple.
I made a NURBS circle...
Create>NURBS Primatives>circle
It automatically appeared on my grid. That was what I wanted.
If you picture it, then all I have in the viewport is this NURBS circle.
I selected it. Then I right clicked and selected Control Vertex.
NOW...here is my question:
I tried to select one CV.
Every time I select one CV, Maya selects an opposite CV....so in essence two of them are selected every time. I have tried switching viewports and making sure
the vertices were not overlapping...etc... nothing seems to do it.
When I try to Control click on one of the CVs to deselect it, nothing happens.
Can anyone tell me why I can't select just one CV?

Thanks, I appreciate any input.
RexRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 07:34 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

do you have that reflection thing on? open your move attributes or whatever tool you are selecting with and check that the reflection thing is unchecked.

...i forget what its called, sorry.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 09:30 PM   #3
RexRat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default The Reflection setting was the issue!

Thanks so much!!!

I did have the reflection setting checked in the move tool.
Once I unchecked that, I was able to select a single vertex.

Thanks so much---:bow:

I really appreciate the help!
RexRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 06:00 AM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

no probs.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.