Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-07-2009, 12:16 PM   #1
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UV transfer won't work

hi there

following a digital tutors tutorial i've modelling a sub-d quadruped monster.
in the second lesson you duplicate the model and work out the UV layout on this polygon copy.

so far so good, but when transfering the UVs back to the original model (sub-d in polygon proxy mode) it all messes up.

i used the mesh/transfer attributes command with maya 2009. result is the 2nd pic...

i tried copy and paste to clipboard, converting the sub-d back to a polygon object... nothing.
of course i haven't made any changes with actual faces or vertices. i just modified the layout poly model like in the tutorials.

i also tried putting all shells into the 1st quadrant, but that didnt work either...
Attached Thumbnails
 
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 12:28 PM   #2
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ...

okay, should have drawn better attention...

ofcourse you have to select local space, not world space.

but either way, the transfer won't work... seems that there are missing faces in the UV layout now.
i checked the polytosubd input node with inherit UVs from poly under the UV treatment...

quick convert on/off doesn't make any difference...
Attached Thumbnails
 
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2009, 11:13 AM   #3
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hullo? anybody ideas???

can anybody tell me what went wrong? is there a cleanup mode which may work? or another transfer method?

i work with maya 2009 by the way.

another thing that maybe of interest:

when transferring the UV layout to the sub-d model in proxy mode i cannot go back to standard mode anymore (its greyed out). that shouldn't be either i guess...

if its helpful i can post the .mb scene, too.

please help
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM
Saw II work mtmckinley Finished Work 8 16-11-2010 01:33 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.