Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-07-2009, 04:50 PM   #1
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default Work In progress problem...Help

I currently after a lay off have found time to spend more time trying to uprade my skills from a nebie to newbie but a little better .

While working on my head all my progress was going fine in blending and re-building my nurb surfaces till i reach the back of the neck not sure what is happening or how to resolve it.

Below is after i blend the surfaces, which seems to be ok. and the second is after i rebuild which seems to add more geometry for some reason??

Could someone please help?

and could someone tell me how to make the pics appear smaller on screen instread of wasting all this space
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 04:55 PM   #2
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

pic 1

sorry about this
Attached Thumbnails
 
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 04:58 PM   #3
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

And the problem pic
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by silverspawn : 28-07-2009 at 05:44 PM.
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 05:35 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Sorry, can't help you with the nurbs re-building/blending, but in photoshop or google's free picasa photo editor or a similar program, just crop out the extra unnecessary window and resize to a smaller resolution, although it looks like you already did the latter.

EDIT: Although the second pic looks like it's got tons of whitespace, so crop that out too I'm guessing whatever you pasted the screenshot into has a very large canvas size.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 05:41 PM   #5
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Thanks

I will try that next time i upload my problem pages.

Regards jason

Just tried that and worked like a charm..thanks again

Last edited by silverspawn : 28-07-2009 at 05:45 PM.
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 06:30 PM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

you're building a head in nurbs?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 09:31 AM   #7
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Yes, Im trying the nurbs patch modeling method , and when i go to blend the back of the neck the problem happens with the geometry when i go to rebuild???

It increases.
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 10:12 AM   #8
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Have you tried different setting in rebuild, specifying how many isoparms you want etc?

Also I think you have "keep original" checked in the settings since it looks like you have two nurbs patches one on top of the other,

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 01:22 PM   #9
silverspawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: U.K.
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

the isoprams do not seem to be the problem, were as the rest of the model connects and blends also rebuilds smoothly the neck does not ???

Jason
silverspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.