Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-09-2009, 11:20 PM   #1
WH33LS
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default silly question .. how to mirror duplicate?

been away for a while .. might try to get back into maya

i forget how to mirror duplicate .. like make a duplication in mirror image

Thank you in advance for your help, it's much appreciated

ty
WH33LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 11:54 PM   #2
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Hi Wh33ls,

Polygon menu set - Mesh - Mirror geometry - option box - mirror direction -X, or +X if you modelled the left hand side first.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:27 AM   #3
WH33LS
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much

And 1 more question if everyone dont mind

How do i set the polygon scale for Inches? "

Thanks again in advance a greatly appreciated
WH33LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 01:29 AM   #4
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

No problem, the answer to your second question is....

Windows menu - settings and preferences - preferences,
the preferences options opens in a new window, then half way down - settings - working units.

Then change it to whichever you want.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:35 PM   #5
WH33LS
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks much for the previous responses .. been working on my model, i figure it'll be done in a few days

I had 1 more question tho ..

What is the keyboard short cut (ctrl + ?) to repeat the last function

(i need to merge verticies but i have to keep going to the tool bar option over and over and over and over ...

Thanks again in advance, greatly appreciated
WH33LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:05 PM   #6
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

All good Wh33ls,

The shortcut is g, without the Ctrl+, just g.

So merge one pair of verts. select the next ones, hit g and repeat!

If all of your verts that need merging are along the Y axis (ie, you've mirrored half a model over) you can go into the merge verts options, lower the range to minimum, select all the verts along the Y axis and hit enter, it should merge all of the pairs together as long as two sets aren't too close together anywhere. If there is a few here and there that are too close you'll probably have to do it one by one.

Last edited by Dango77 : 07-09-2009 at 09:08 PM.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:27 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

last i used that mirror geometry it combined the two pieces of geometry if you haven't checked it to merge
if you checked it to merge then you wouldn't need to do the merge vertices

if your model is symmetric then you can align all the verts in the middle of the model so that they are all straight and move the pivot point inline with them (hit insert to move pivot, or home on mac(?)),
then use mirror gometry with merge meshes checked on(i prefer duplicate special, because it doesn't screw up as much)

if you did do the duplicate special way then mesh > combine them, and then you can select all the verts, go to merge vertices > option box and change the threashold to something like 0.001, since the verts should all be on top of each other they will merge without problem
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.