Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-09-2009, 02:52 PM   #1
stretchandgrim
Registered User
 
stretchandgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rigging Disaster!!!! Please HELP!

I've just completed a whole working rig on a four armed woman, everything is working, looks great.....but now I realize as I start to test the rig properly that the whole time the original geometry was not quite zeroed out in the Y axis and I've rigged the whole thing out of line with the world. Thus, eg, when I bend the head it curves out of line. Big mistake. I've found the whole rig to be 5.304 out in Y so I tried just turning the global control, but of course the IK handles are then facing 5.304 in the wrong direction. I have tried turning the geometry separately, then the skeleton and not the IK, but that doesn't seem to work. Do I have to start all over again or can I fix it?? Please help!

Stretch.
__________________
vay kind of you.
stretchandgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 10:41 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default Re: Rigging Disaster!!!! Please HELP!

Originally posted by stretchandgrim
Do I have to start all over again or can I fix it?? Please help!
as an un-pro rigger and not fully knowing what you're trying to say (any screen shots?).... yes... start again, select the mesh and hit ctrl+shift+d (delete all by type > history)
hope you didn't waste time painting weights after binding when you found that out too late... that would suck otherwise
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 01:46 AM   #3
septopus
yes...you dont sound not non double negative
 
septopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

you dont have to start over. simply export your weights then un-skin the model, fix the position, then re-skin it, then import the skin weights onto the mesh.
__________________
level 3 luchador!

image dump
septopus is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.