Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-09-2009, 07:15 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 2009 shadow problem

Hi. Using Maya2009 on a Precision 690. OS: XP Pro x64, 8 gigs RAM.

I have a scene I started in Maya 8.5 and just opened and did my first render in Maya 2009, which I just installed.

There were no problems rednering this scene in 8.5, but now suddenly, the shadows on the floor plane are dislocated from the objects which are casting them.

I have attached a jpeg highlighting the problem.

The light source casting the shadows is an area light casting raytrace shadows. Using mental ray to render. Using global illumination, but the shadow problem happens without GI.

I tried creating a new light -- a spot light -- to see if that would make a difference. It created the same"floating" shadow away from the objects, so it doesn't seem to be the original light.

the shadows cast by objects in the scene on to other objects seem OK. It is only the shadows on the "floor" of the scene that are dislocated from the rest of the objects.

Anyone with any ideas of what is causing this in 2009 that wasn't happening in 8.5 and how I can fix it?

Thank you.

Attached Thumbnails
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2009, 09:09 PM   #2
The thin red line
daverave's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,468
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts

I am newish to maya but it looks like you ground plane is to low, have you used a key frame in your render that you need to get rid of.................dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2009, 10:28 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Dave, I'm embarrased to say that I solved the riddle to this weird problem myself this morning and you are right. The plane had translated downwards at some point.

Don't know how, but I feel stupid.

Thanks for the response.

Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.