Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-10-2009, 11:21 PM   #1
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Creating Rivers

Whats the best way, to make a river run through a field of grass? I have a poly plane Ive sculpted, and made a path for where I want the water to be. Ive tried using the pond feature, but you really cant mold it and make it curve to follow the path on the plane. Any suggestions?

Im using Maya 8, BTW. Dont know if that helps any...
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 09:39 AM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

depends on whether you want it game quality or movie quality. Game quality would probably be to create the indentation into the ground plane for the depth of the river, then put a plane that represents the top of the river water and is cutting into the ground plane (banks). Then you could make a river texture and animate the texture.

Not sure about movie quality, might have to use another program for the water animation. I've not really messed around with Maya fluid too much so hopefully someone more experienced in this area can help you out. And I'm not sure that an emitter would look right for a river but you could play around with it. As long as your river bed was sloped downward, and you had gravity applied, the emitter should follow the path.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 01:38 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Maya fluids is more for vaporous/gaseous fluid simulations as opposed to liquid simulation.

nParticles can get you on your way though with their various meshing features, give thema peak.

Cheers,
Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 09:38 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by bendingiscool
nParticles can get you on your way though with their various meshing features, give thema peak.
he's using 08 though, so no nparticles for him

i think i've seen lava, you could look for a tutorial that makes lava and modify it to look blue/clear like water

not sure how easy/possible that owuld be, but it's an idea
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 10:39 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

If he's using Maya 8 Unlimited, he could use fluids, I think there is a mesh option in there.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 10:45 PM   #6
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in the fluid options, there is a section titled surface, and there is a tick box for hard surface rendering. just be sure you have a ton of hdd space lying around as caching the sim will be huge. i never got very far with maya fluids when trying to make a river but i never had a computer that could handle it.
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2009, 01:56 AM   #7
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Wow, didnt expect this many responses. Im using Maya 8 Unlimited, so I have access to the fluids feature. Ive tried it once before, but it didnt turn out oh so well.

Im aiming for a somewhat realistic style. Not so much photorealistic, but not all cartoonish (if that makes sense to anyone.)

I'll try your guys' suggestions, though. Thanks!
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.