Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-10-2009, 02:29 AM   #1
alentor
Registered User
 
alentor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Duplicate edge [newbie]



Hello

I want to duplicate the selected edges, maybe even across the polygon, how can i do it?

<3 thanks!
alentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2009, 07:40 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Not quite sure what you mean but maybe you can try the insert edge loop tool.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2009, 08:25 AM   #3
alentor
Registered User
 
alentor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yea, i know i cna do that, but i want to duplicate the selected edge, can i do it? like copy paste it to a different location.

<3
alentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2009, 08:25 AM   #4
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can use the 'bevel' command in edit mesh menu. it'll duplicate the selected edges..
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2009, 08:35 AM   #5
alentor
Registered User
 
alentor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally posted by effacer
you can use the 'bevel' command in edit mesh menu. it'll duplicate the selected edges..
yeah, that is exactly what i was looking for.

Thank u ;D
alentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2009, 09:40 AM   #6
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:-)

however, if u want to copy paste the edges, it ain't possible.
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 10:43 PM   #7
suzipolklittle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not sure is this is pertinent to the discussion, but if you're trying to make a curve from the edges of a polygon object, what you do is select the edges you want to convert into a curve.
Then go to Modify -> Convert -> Poly Edges to Curve.
Voila!
suzipolklittle is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.