Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 11-11-2009 , 06:34 PM
Simply Maya OG

The Beginning

This is my VERY first attempt at modeling a head. Ive only put about an hours worth of work into it, and for it being my very first try, I presonally think its quite good so far. After the head is completed, I plan on making the rest of the body. Not going for a completely realistic look here, but not completely cartoony. Progress will probably pretty slow, as I dont have much free time with having a 9 month old baby. Comments, crits?

user added image

user added image

- Hybrid
# 2 11-11-2009 , 07:49 PM
The thin red line
You will have the same problem I had with edge flow above the nostrol you will need to change it there, poly count a bit high for early stage of modeling...hope this helps dave

# 3 12-11-2009 , 12:41 AM
Yeah, it's much easier keeping the poly count as low as possible during each stage of the modeling. Also, don't worry about how much time you put into it. It's MUCH better if you take your time and do it right rather than try and rush it. Since it's your first, take your time and have fun.

Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
# 4 12-11-2009 , 01:55 AM
Simply Maya OG
Thanks guys. Im working on refining the nose right now, hence the amount of polys around that area. Im sure I'll be able to cut down abit. Same for the lip/chin area. Once I get the basic shape of it, Im sure I'll be able to cut down on the poly count abit.

And Im not worried about how long it'll take me. I just want it to look decent for a first time head model.

daverave - Can you be abit more specific about what your talking about? The edge flow above the nostral?

- Hybrid
# 5 12-11-2009 , 10:18 AM
The thin red line