Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-11-2009, 09:31 AM   #1
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default Making this kind of Texture , Help please

hi everyone,

I am trying to find out how can I make this kind of texture in maya, look at the villa image, the wall texture, its more than color, do you have any idea? if you know something(link/tutorial/youtube........) please say something. I tried but I can not get exact the right one, I apply the noise as well to the texture, but still I am missing something.

I need your help,
Attached Thumbnails
 
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 10:31 AM   #2
Olorin
Registered User
 
Olorin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am a novice myself, but I think you could get this with a simple bumpmap on your reflections and color.
Olorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 12:09 PM   #3
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

what kind of bump map? you mean noise bumpmap? any link ? explanation?
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 12:14 PM   #4
arnel555
 
Posts: n/a
Default

that is light light yellow

you have to set up a HDRI

or a good light set up to get a result like that

but your best bet to get something like that is MAX
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 12:17 PM   #5
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I know with max is possible, but I need to make it with maya, that must be some option,somewhere, I am sure its is possible,
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 06:16 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I would just use a mental ray material and the sun and sky.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 07:58 PM   #7
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
I would just use a mental ray material and the sun and sky.
Pretty much. You don't need Max or extensive lighting setups for this. This is the physical sky + mia_mat with a cloud texture as a bump.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 08:34 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

GecT


Can you post your mia_material settings also the Sun and sky settings and the render ...

I've just tried it out. I'm close but can't get that good look like you ...

If you have time buddy

10x in advanced...
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2009, 09:27 PM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Yeah, gimme a sec.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2009, 12:52 AM   #10
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Ok

After I created my physical sky, I deleted the mia_exposure_simple and used a mia_exposure_photographic on the camera instead.



All shaders are mia_materials with gamma correct nodes (with a gamma of .455) plugged into all the color slots (diffuse, refraction color, etc) and AO checked on. Plugged a cloud texture into the bump and resized the 3dTexture a little bit and took the bump depth to 0.2.



And my render settings.






It took me a few mins, especially with the super high detailed models ^^

Chao
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 07:49 AM   #11
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

thanks GecT, you are ..... what should I say? you are great ...thanks alot, really great reply.

Now I can work on my villa.
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 11:36 PM   #12
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@ :attn: :attn: :attn: .........
good guidence
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:29 PM   #13
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why use a gamma correct node when you could just change the frame buffer?
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 09:55 PM   #14
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtnhome3d
why use a gamma correct node when you could just change the frame buffer?
Yeah, I tried that way, I found that instead of solving my "washed out color" issue, it generally darkened everything and I wasn't feeling that so much. So I just created a gamma corrected mia_material preset thingy which cut down on the gamma node handling by TONS.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 11:44 PM   #15
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how did you set that up? is it specific to the 2008/9 maya? i know 8.5 is missing the mia_mat x which has some nice looking slots for stuff in it and the mi_exposure_photographic lens shader. might be time to upgrade, thankfully i qualify as a student
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.