Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-12-2009, 08:17 AM   #1
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default PC configuration

Hello friends,

I am planning to buy a new pc to learn maya. I have got the following configurations from my pc supplier. I am not very good to undertsand the hardware. Can you guys please help me in deciding.

1) INTEL PENTIUM 4 2.66GHZ CORE2QUAD DESKTOP COMPUTER
-INTEL ORIGINAL DG41RQ MOTHERBOARD WITH INTEGRATED AGP & SOUND
-2GB DDR2 RAM TRANSCEND
-500GB SATA HARD DISK SEAGATE
GEFORCE XFX 9400GT WITH 1GB RAM GRAPHIC CARD


2) INTEL COREi7 2.66Ghz DESKTOP COMPUTER
-INTEL Corei7-920 PROCESSOR
-8MB L2 CACHE ,2.66GHZ ,1066MHZ FSB)
-INTEL WX58BP MOTHERBOARD
-2GB DDR3 RAM
-SEAGATE 320GB SATA HARD DISK
-GEFORCE XFX 9400GT WITH 1GB RAM GRAPHIC CARD

3) AMD PHENONII X4 925 DESKTOP COMPUTER
-GIGABYTE 785 MOTHERBOARD WITH INTEGRATED AGP & SOUND
-2GB DDR3 RAM TRANSCEND
-500GB SATA HARD DISK WD
-GEFORCE XFX 9400GT WITH 1GB RAM GRAPHIC CARD

Appreciate your help

Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 11:48 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i think more information is needed before we can tell you anything useful
what speed is the RAM? is it 800MHz or 1066MHz or something else?
what operating system is your supplier going to put on it? (Windows i assume, but is it windows 7 32bit or 64bit or something else?)

i'm told (by the internet) that the INTEL WX58BP MOTHERBOARD that you listed is built for XEON processors and ATI graphics cards? no mention about i7 or nVidia graphics card that you have listed there in the second option

similar with the 3rd option, the motherboard doesn't mention it will work with nvidia graphics cards

also... why only 2GB of RAM? the operating system needs at least 1gb alone (or for some reason mine seems to need 2gb), you need at least 4gb, preferably 8 (and an operating system that can handle that much ram)

keep in mind that i don't know all that much about hardware (but it sounds like your supplier doesn't know all that much either, no offence to the supplier or you)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 02:13 PM   #3
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I would take option 2 with more RAM (8 GB) a 64 bit OS and another disk for storage
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 04:30 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Uhh, aren't Pentium 4 and Core 2 Quads completely different processors? Pentium 4 being single core and a bit old, like at least 6 years old.

Can I make the assumption that you told your supplier the purpose for the machine? I'm surprised all these rigs have only 2GB RAM.

Also the graphic card could be better, the 1GB RAM sounds nice but the truth is that card has a low bit rate, aim for 256 minimum.

I don't know if this is exactly how your supplier listed the information but in rig 2, I found it strange that the motherboard info is listed as if it were two separate components. Anyways, option 3 looks the best but if you were thinking of SLI you can forget it with that board. I don't even think the motherboard in option 2 supports the graphic card.

Chirone, you're right the INTEL WX58BP MOTHERBOARD is for Xeons, the i7 listed is of the same socket type but I dunno how that will work out. To be honest, I would seek different options.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 07:27 AM   #5
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Thanks everyone for your replies.

I will have rework the configuration with the supplier.

Thanks again

Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.