Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-12-2009, 06:54 PM   #1
usassg1124
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Software Problems

Hey everyone.

I recently got a new computer that runs Vista, 64 bit, huge hard drive space and huge RAM. I tried to install and run Adobe CS3 and it installs fine but when I click on the programs, nothing happens. Example: When I click on the Photoshop icon, it starts to open but then nothing happens, then it says that it is unresponsive. The other programs like Dreamweaver or Illustrator just don't open. Any ideas? Thanks ahead of time.
usassg1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 09:20 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

have you tried just opening it and letting it run and not doing anything for a few minutes?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 11:02 PM   #3
usassg1124
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yeah, it just sits there and thinks. I looked up solutions on the Internet and it still wont work. Is CS3 compatible with Vista 64 bit?
usassg1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 11:40 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yup, i used it

on the first start up i just let it sit there being all unresponsive and then it studdenly worked
after that it starts without being unresponsive
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 11:48 PM   #5
usassg1124
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well I guess I'll give it another try. But even with the other programs like dreamweaver and Illustrator, nothing happens at all. They dont even open up. At least Photoshop opens up and thinks.
usassg1124 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.