Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-01-2010, 07:14 AM   #1
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default Scale components along an axis?!?!?!

Why does Maya not have a scale along axis option???????


It has a move along axis option, but when I want to scale along an axis I have to:

1. make a cube
2. pain painstakingly align a face of the cube along the edge I want to scale along
3. make the cube the parent of the object I want to scale the verts in.
4. freeze the transform of the object I need to scale verts
5. unparent the cube and the object
6. delete the cube
7. and 20 fricking minutes later and now I can scale the god damn verts along the axis I want!!!!


There has to be a better way!!! I can't stand sitting there and try to manually scale verts in three fricking axis while they go all skewed and wonky because I just can't pick the axis I want to scale along!

The other option of course to the move the entire object until the verts I want to scale are lined up with a global axis, then freeze transforms, then scale, then realign the entire object to where is needs to go again. This is still a retarded workflow. I spend 10 minutes of my time aligning the object to get the verts aligned to the axis I want to scale on, then 2 seconds to make the adjustment, then 10 minutes getting the god damn part back aligned again!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 01-01-2010 at 07:20 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 08:13 AM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I share your frustration, though I never went to the trouble of devising that complex workflow. Hope there's a better solution out there.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 06:08 PM   #3
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

CT
I'm having a hard time visualizing the question of scale along an axis, i might be just misunderstanding what you are saying, make a quick jpg with appropriate arrows to demonstrate the issue you are referring to and I'll see if i have encountered the problem before and have a fix, or if there is a script that resolves it, or if i can come up with a solution
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.