Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-01-2010, 10:18 PM   #1
Mishka_a
Registered User
 
Mishka_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What is wrong with my lamp?

Hello!

I am a beginner in Maya, trying to render a model. All quality settings are at maximum, yet I get those weird lines and spots all over my lamp. Could someone please tell me how to fix it?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Mishka_a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 11:12 PM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

my guess would be the normals... try reversing them and rendering again and see if the problem persists.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 11:39 PM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You probably have some duplicates of your model sitting on top of each other.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 04:51 AM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

yeah check that you do not have laminar objects would be my guess.

Haha, I also remember learning mental ray. If going from 1 to 2 is good then going from 2 to 1024 should be UBER! Three weeks later when my render finished I went back to the default settings are fine! (smile)

I have watched countless tutorials and read the docs many times and the mental ray settings are still a mystery to me. Half the time, if you try to follow the documentation, the time you spend fine tuning the settings to get the best render takes 1000 times longer then the render it self.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 07:46 PM   #5
Mishka_a
Registered User
 
Mishka_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi

Thank you very much everyone for replies, GecT was right - I had two models on top of each other )

Mental ray is indeed the biggest mystery ever...
Mishka_a is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.