Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-01-2010, 11:31 AM   #1
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default interactive cloth playback

I am wondering what kind of set up you might need to be able to run cloth simulations in real time. I have a character set up that is a bit like doc oc and with a cloth cape that is reacting with him.

My comp set up consists of:
quad core @2.4ghz
8gb of ddr2 ram
Ati HD5770
and vista ultimate 64bit

I assume cloth simulations are processor dependent in which case should I be looking to build a comp with intels i7 processor.
If someone could point me in the right direction it would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Leon
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 11:58 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

omg i dont think ive ever seen a cloth sim in real time ..not sure its even possible, i might be just taking rubbish though ..hehe
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 12:24 PM   #3
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

You may well be right jsprogg. Just annoying having to make changes and create playbalsts each time that take about 5-10 mins. Be so much easier if you could play back close to real time to get things spot on.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 03:58 PM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I think even with the i7 it would be slow. Cloth simulation is a very computationally expensive process. That's why on most productions, we just fake it.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 08:26 PM   #5
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

doesnt the Syflex program they used for the cloth in LOTR actually offer pretty decent live playback on 'normal' computers?

G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 04:57 AM   #6
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I'm not sure about Syflex, but I've heard it is faster under certain circumstances.

If maya's is slow, trying bringing the subsampling down in the attribute editor.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 03:09 AM   #7
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

r u wanting to actually sim in real time or just watch it if you just want to watch it cache the sim and you will be able to watch it in real time
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 09:50 AM   #8
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

in a ideal work I would like to be able to watch the simulation in real time as it would enable me to make alterations and view instant results. Thanks for your comments and thoughts guys it is much appreciated. I am going to try running it on a friends core i7 to see how much improvement gain there is this evening.

Thanks again,

Leon
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 11:39 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You shouldbe able to tweek ncloth to lower the simulation substeps in the neucleus node (just adds edges to a circle) and/or lower the poly cound on the cloth object, granted that its not going to be full quality and the simulation mught change slightly when the res is increased.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.