Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-01-2010, 05:11 PM   #1
mmarinheiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 2010 scripts on Mac OSX

Hello everybody,

I'm trying out Maya 2010 on my company's computer but I can't get old scripts I use in Maya 2008 to work. I use a lot
quickGI-v1.0-.mel which creates a spotlight dome, is there a way to make it work on Maya 2010?

Thanks for the help
mmarinheiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 01:12 AM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You'll have to give us a bit more info, are you putting them in the correct place, or if you run them in the script editor what errors is it giving you?

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 12:42 PM   #3
mmarinheiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Chris

Thanks for the help. I already solved half the issue myself, I was typing "quickGI-v1.0-" in the MEL command box instead of only "quickGI".. But now I get the message // Error: Cannot find procedure "quickGI". // which must be because I didn't place the .mel file in the proper scripts folder.. As I have quite a few of these folders in this computer (from older versions of maya), and to save me the trouble of copying and relaunching maya about 10 times, can you indicate me the standard path where it reads the scripts from? Is it on /users/shared? Is it on My documents? Is it project location specific?

Thank you in advance!

Miguel
mmarinheiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2010, 06:54 PM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

It's usually: /users/*user*/Library/Preferences/Autodesk/maya/2010/scripts

This is for scripts you only wish 2010 to run. Otherwise, use the scripts folder outside the 2010 folder.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:47 PM   #5
mmarinheiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks!

Thank you very much for your help!
mmarinheiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.