Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-01-2010, 05:36 PM   #1
floydski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya live tiff sequence

i'm having a few problems with some hd footage that i'm trying to track in maya live. It was shot on a sony z1 in hd, captured in final cut pro on my mac then i converted it to an image sequence (tiffs) .When i try to load the sequence into maya live (on my pc) it doesn't work. the error in the output window reads.. invalid type rla (either the output file format type or the channel type stored in the file is incorrect) is this some kind of mac / pc thing?
floydski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default Re: Maya live tiff sequence

maya doesn't like lzw compression, make sure they are uncompressed.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2010, 06:16 PM   #3
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Maya doesn't like tiff's in general, as it's only a container format. There is no real standard; so one application could interpret one a different way than another. tga's are much better. Also, make sure they aren't RLE compressed, as Maya has an issue with them.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2010, 05:18 AM   #4
trackpoint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default same error

Hi,

I am having the same error only I am importing a sequence of jpg images.

floydski, are you getting any other errors in the output window? I scrolled up and found the following:


ERROR, ImageIsFile Function-imageIsFile... Too many open files

I'm running Maya 2008 on WinXP. The program repeatedly crashes as I add trackpoints. I've looked around for hours yet can't figure this one out.
trackpoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2010, 05:32 AM   #5
trackpoint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default yep

I just changed the sequence to tga and sure enough it worked!
trackpoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.