Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-02-2010, 10:39 AM   #1
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default maya to lightwave

need help, i love using maya, and i cant use lightwave, but i have to use lightwave in my uni for my assignments, i was wondering is there a way to import maya objects to lightwave, so i can work in maya and then import them into lightwave to make it look like i worked in lightwave :attn:
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2010, 10:55 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

.obj files work well.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2010, 05:52 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Why don't you just use lightwave if that's the assignment? It looks better in the industry if you know how to use a couple different packages, and much worse if you refuse to use any but one.

But yeah, if you can't find the obj exporter in maya, you might have to enable it in the plugin settings.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2010, 08:56 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

True

As a Uni lecturer myself I would not want a student to use something made in a different programme, in fact I would give no marks for that section.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2010, 11:24 AM   #5
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

i know guys it not for want of trying, i have tried to use lightwave but find it very difficult, and r uni lecture to put it bluntly is Shit, he hasnt a clue about lightwave, so how can he expect us to do something in a program he hasnt taught us. thats y i want to do it in maya cuz at least i can produce some work

thanks guys for the help by the way
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2010, 05:37 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I was going to suggest that you take advantage of the professional instruction but if indeed the instructor doesn't know what he is doing then I have another suggestion, file a complaint about the course because you're getting screwed out of your money.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2010, 06:50 PM   #7
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Yeah, it's too bad the instructor is not really teaching you how to use lightwave as this would be kind of a twofer since modo and lightwave have almost identical workflows as they were pretty much written by the same programmers.

Lightwave and Modo have a pretty good built-in help system that details how to use just about every tool. Far and away better then Maya's sad help system, that reads like a stereo manual written in latin.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 20-02-2010 at 12:09 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2010, 08:09 PM   #8
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

I must admit that lightwave was easer to learn then maya, like ctbram said nearly ever tool has a video tutorial. chilledoutredhead if you were to use lightwave and got stuck you could just drop me a line..............dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2010, 03:14 PM   #9
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

thanks guys for the help much appreciated. yea the instructor has been noted and several other classes are filing complaints against him, but as its only a month til the end of our course its of little help if we do get a new instructor! lol.

i hope that i will have more time to study lightwave in its entirity, but considering the time span i would rather use a little cheat in using maya instead of lightwave and actually produce work than struggle through lightwave and produce something abysmal! lol and trust me im not the only one in the class thinking the same thing!
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2010, 03:15 PM   #10
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

ps.. so far the .obj exporter has worked really well, i few tweaks in lightwave are needed, but if you ever have to use it, it works
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.