Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-02-2010, 05:23 PM   #1
Dakkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default urgent need for a pc that can run maya

I havent got a big budget I just need something that can run it at a decent level...

im alright in finding most of the components but in terms of graphics card i really dont know what im looking for,

can anyone reccomend me a cheap graphics card that works well with maya?

also does the operating system matter much at all? because I'd preferably want xp i cant stand vista or 7...
Dakkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2010, 06:35 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Quadros and FireGLs are designed to work well with Maya. Check Nvidia's site for your options for the quadros. Seeing as they're more expensive on average, you could try a Geforce. What's your budget?

And Maya works fine with XP, but I like 7 personally.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2010, 06:54 PM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default Re: urgent need for a pc that can run maya

Originally posted by Dakkus
I havent got a big budget I just need something that can run it at a decent level...

im alright in finding most of the components but in terms of graphics card i really dont know what im looking for,

can anyone reccomend me a cheap graphics card that works well with maya?

also does the operating system matter much at all? because I'd preferably want xp i cant stand vista or 7...
First, define cheap?

Also, if your running XP 32 bit then you'll be limited to 3GB RAM, XP 64bit was a bit of an abortion, some people worked with it fine but I ran into some serious OpenGL redraw issues that brought everything to a screeching halt. Vista was O.K. but Windows 7 is much better and I'm not having any issues.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2010, 07:22 PM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Not sure about the latest versions of Maya, but I've run Maya 4 up to Maya 2008 on XP with an old AGP-slot MSI Geforce TI4200 card, soft-quadroed (with Riva tuner) up to a Quadro4 700XGL. Soft-quadro is an old mod that patches or unlocks the quadro drivers that were included on older cards. It can be a pain to set up but works once it is. I use it with max 2009 as well.

Like Gect mentioned...what's the budget? What type of card slot? You could pick up a Quadro FX 1700 if you have PCI express slots...not the cheapest but not uber-expensive either.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2010, 08:17 PM   #5
Dakkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My budget is around 350 pounds for an entire PC,

i just need it to be able to run maya for my uni work i can do renders and stuff on the school computers its not far i live on campus,

i found a asus ee box with these specs, the system will be dedicated to just maya as i already have a decent laptop (Maya didnt like my intergrated graphics though)

Processor: Intel Atom Dual Core 330 1.6GHz
Memory: 2GB
HD Capacity: 250GB
Display: None
Graphics Card: NVIDIA ION

Would this be able to run maya?
Dakkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2010, 11:57 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Yikes! I don't know about that machine, that's like web browsing and typing specs and doesn't leave much in the way of upgrading. I'd say it could run it...but not very well, and then you threw in integrated graphics, even though its Nvidia, it's still integrated. If you're going dual core then aim for 2.8GHz+ and 4GB RAM min and get more later. Also, you should make out ok with a decent gaming card.

If I were you, I'd hunker down in the uni labs and save til I could get a worthwhile machine.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2010, 04:24 AM   #7
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

You won't be able to run a professional 3d application like Maya on a machine like that. To get a decent machine that can run Maya, you usually need to spend upwards of around $1500 CND (£935)

An atom just doesn't have enough power.

Some recommended specs:
Dual or Quad core 2.4 Ghz + (Quad recommended)
4+ gb of ram
Graphics card: FirePro or Quadro
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2010, 05:03 AM   #8
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

One the one hand, I'm sure you'll be able to run maya with that system. My previous computer was a single core 1.8 GHz Athlon with 1.5GB RAM and a Radeon x1600 card (I think). I could do plenty with Maya. Yes it ran, but there was significant lag in the viewport with too many polys, and it rendered out nice and slow.

So I would say, yes, if you really need a new computer, it will run maya, but since you already have a decent laptop, I'll agree with the above comments and advise you to wait a bit until you can get something a bit higher on the scale. Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2010, 04:22 PM   #9
Dakkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

edit: thanks for all the advice very much appreciated but i do need it soon for a deadline i need to meet ^_^

yea i know i have a small budget but im still in my first year at university and my friend managed the first term on his netbook...


I was on ebuyer and am looking at building my own pc i found these, whats everyones thoughts on them?

AMD Athlon 630 Bundle Deal Including Athlon II X4 630 2.8GHz AM3 Retail Box Processor Asus M4A785TD-M EVO 785G Motherboard and Generic 2GB DDR3 1333 Memory

Asus HD 4350 512MB DDR2 DVI VGA HDMI Out PCI-E Low Profile Graphics Card

with everything else it comes to around 350ish

I can always upgrade the parts when i get more money but as a foundation system would those be alright?

Last edited by Dakkus : 28-02-2010 at 04:38 PM.
Dakkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2010, 07:40 PM   #10
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Not sure about that Radeon video card, more than likely there will be display issues in Maya, you can get the Nvidia equivalent which is the GeForce 8400 GS. But everything else seems in good shape.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 06:43 PM   #11
Dakkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks everyone again, you guys were a big help, like ive said its mainly for modelling and playblasting, i got the uni labs for rendering and whatnot...

xx
Dakkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.