Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-04-2010, 06:40 AM   #1
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default image planes

Hi,

How to have two image planes in a single view port?

for eg. how do i import image planes of a front and back of a car in a single viewport and toggle whenever i want to work on the front and back of the car.

Is this possible or am i expecting too much?

Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 01:14 PM   #2
Ceryni
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could always have 2 planes, give them separate layers and have them directly in the same place. Lock them both as usual and only have 1 visible at a time.

Using the layer pane on the bottom right of your interface, you can toggle visibility on and off whenever you need the front or the back.

Unless there is of course a special way specific to doing that job that I don't know about.....?
Ceryni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 05:15 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

One straightforward way is just to load up the other file (just browse to the other image) when you want to toggle, not super fast, but it works.

Otherwise you could create two planes with the appropriate textures instead of using the "image plane" function, as mentioned above.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 12:57 AM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

This is another of my Maya pet peeves! There should be marking menu options for ALL views including BACK and RIGHT and BOTTOM.

What you have to do as it stands is go to predefined bookmarks and select one of those ORPHANED views and it will reassign that view to the CURRENT viewport but does not change the name (for the love of god!!!).

So that now you will have a persp view for instance and it will be the BACK view! It's the very definition of RETARDED!

You could create another camera for each of the orphaned views and assign them to the new cameras. Then you could attach images to the camera, then create links on you shelf to the orphaned views and after 40 minutes of diddling you can have a cludgey way to do what you should have been able to do from the freaking marking menu in the first place (lol).

Rather then pull my pud for an hour setting all that crap up every time I want to model I just do what was suggested earlier and create plane for each of the orphaned views and then put them on a layer and toggle the opposing layers on and off as needed. It's still a cludge but I find it the least annoying solution.

Messing with view port in maya can be one of the most confounding exercises ever! I have been using maya since maya 3 (over 10 years) and I still get wrapped around the axle trying to figure out view ports. Just recently I ended up with all three of my orthogonal views so hopelessly messed up that every time I loaded maya I got a nasty gram saying it could not find any of the standard views and was creating all new ones, then I would end up with 7 cameras and top1, front1, side1 OMG! I was ready to toss the machine at the wall! I had to completely blow away my maya start up folder and regenerate everything then rebuild all my shelves. As a result I do not try to do anything with view ports anymore. I just sit and grumble and stew every time I have to have a right, back, or bottom view!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 14-04-2010 at 01:04 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 01:56 PM   #5
Ceryni
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think it's safe to assume ctbram doesn't like mayas view port functionality...
Ceryni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 06:15 PM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Yeah it definitely is safe to assume I hate Maya's view port functionality. I am sure if someone ever really explained how the camera / view port associations work and I could make sense of them I would be less upset.

But hell I not a retard and have spent a lot of time trying to figure them out and have been unsuccessful.

As I said at one point trying to set up cameras attached to view ports for back, top, and right side I ended up having to delete the maya folder because ever time I started maya it could not find the regular view ports any more!

I have yet to see anyone explain how the view ports work and how to set up the three missing views.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 09:04 PM   #7
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

hi all,

first of all thanks to ceryni, stwert and off course ctbram for your help but sorry to say that i have still not figured it out.

Ceryni. which is this menu where we can change the visibility as you mentioned in your reply.

well, i was going through this tutorial on car modelling and saw that the tutor was switching to back and front easily in Panels--- orthographic... (Please see the attached image.The image is from the exercise files.).

I checked and dont find any back command as in the photograph.

Ctbram... (the name of the view port mentions back for the back image)

http://img691.imageshack.us/i/imageplane.jpg/

rgds
Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 09:59 PM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Nobody googles anymore. Try this:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=504152

It includes a link to a script for setting up various missing views. On a related note, I had actually started updating/modifying's KB's old refplanes script awhile back adding some of the missing views and updating some of the syntax for 2008+....syntax is updated but only one new view so far and I can't remember offhand if it was for "back" or "bottom"....most likely, "Back". If the script mentioned in the link I posted doesn't work out for ya, maybe I can finish the script up. I was just working on it on an "as needed" basis for my personal projects.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 10:22 PM   #9
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

thanks nitroliq. I half heartedly looked a long time back. not sure that link was available when I was running into my problems.

I would still argue that setting up viewports and associating a camera for the missing views is more tedious then need be though.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 11:50 PM   #10
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

That's Maya in general—a lesson in tediousness.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 01:45 AM   #11
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Nitro Mate, i for one would be a big fan of an updated script for Kbrown's ref planes, i use it religiously.
My only beef with it all in all is that it should have Front, Back, Top Bottom Left and Right views, and possibly the option for a 3/4 view that would be locked at a 45 degree rotation off the x and z axis in the - direction.
Also it should set up a layer for Front top and side ( presumably right side ) .. and also a separate layer for Left side, bottom and back. and give separate locators for each one linked into the transparency node of the shaders.
Ohh yea, also just for ease in the out liner, Have it automatically group the ref planes in a ref planes group.
annnnnnnnddddddd....errrrrrrm......

That will do it for now
can you have it ready by tomorrow?
LoL!!
don't ask for much do i?
sorry i had to mate
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 04:06 PM   #12
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

hi

downloaded the script but now how do i get it working. how to install it

i am a novice . confused: . please

mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 04:18 PM   #13
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

copy the script into your maya scripts directory
Documents/maya/ what ever maya version you have / scripts

then in maya open the script editor ( its a box on the lower left of the screen next to the command line )
file, source script

open the script in note pad and look for a line that says " global proc"
for k browns ref planes i think it was ref_planes
but i cant remember for sure.
anyway, what ever comes after that line mentioned above will be what you type in the box next to the command line at the bottom of your ui
after you type it put a ; at the end, and hit enter, that should execute the script.
if you want to make a shelf button for it just hit the up arrow key with your cursor still in the typing field for the command line and high lite the text, click it with you middle mouse button and drag to a shelf you want to put it in and drop it there.

hope this helps.
g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 05:47 PM   #14
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

legendofzombi,

Thanks a lot.

a diagolg box opened after i loaded the file in source script as per your suggestion.

There was no need to work in notepad.

Thanks again for your help

regards,

mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 06:00 PM   #15
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by legendofzombi
can you have it ready by tomorrow?
Yeah, I'll get right on that.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.