Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-05-2010, 11:39 AM   #1
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default uv copy problem

Hi guys,

I know its probably something really bloody simple but this one has me stumped. I dont know if I have inadvertantly hit a key or what but I need a hand.

In Kurts tut on the Spitfire he duplicates his tyre, then highlights the UV in persp panel and does a flip then highlights the original half and ends up with 2 sets of UV's for the tyre.

I have tried, checked, tried again to emulate this but cant seem to do it. Everytime I highlight the copy the original also lights up the UV and I cant get it to work.

vid attached

Thanks bullet

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4090628/uv%20error.wmv
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 05:04 PM   #2
Lion`I
Registered User
 
Lion`I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 136
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

i might be wrong but maybe u haven't done an instant duplicate as i can see from the video when he selects the tyre UV's the other one gets selected as well

or it could be something else
__________________


Autume Challenge Nov 09


Moving Forward
Lion`I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 05:27 PM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Yeah that definatley sounds like an instanced model you have mate

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 11:42 PM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thanks guys I will check the settings,

I dont remember changing it??? Thats not something I muck around with........hhhhhhhhmmmmmmmmm

Stranger things have happened I suppose. Will let you know in a minute.

cheers Ant
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 11:46 PM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thank you very much guys,

I dont know how the hell that happened!!!! I dont remember changing that at all???? Oh well problem solved, thanks heaps guys, now I know I shall remember it.

Thread can be closed admin, thanks heaps.

dooohhhhhh


cheers Ant
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.