Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-05-2010, 05:01 PM   #1
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UV Mapping buildings for games

Hi everyone, I have a question for anyone who has knowledge of building environments for games and at the moment I have completed this creation of my first building.
I don’t have much experience in creating buildings for games, I am concerned about the UV layout I have created for this building.
Can someone please explain or show me an example of the correct way to layout the UV’s for buildings.

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
 
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 05:05 PM   #2
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UV Layout

UV layout for building..
Attached Thumbnails
 
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2010, 07:58 PM   #3
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

when it comes to building and stuffs like having a lots of repeated parts(like the right side of your building) then it is wise to divide them into elementary parts.Then reuse them.

It gives you a performance boost rather then having a big texture which need to be high res to make it look good.This also saves a lots of memory bandwidth.
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 06:33 PM   #4
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So parts of the building (e.g. window area) need to be made from the same parts, which will help me save time when building. "Cool, I understand now"

One thing that is bugging me is spacing out the UV's do I continue to use the area which I have used in the picture below or should I use all of the grid?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 07:30 PM   #5
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I think it's pretty typical to just use the 0-1 space, but maybe someone with more experience could elaborate.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2010, 06:15 PM   #6
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

always use first quadrant.
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2010, 08:20 PM   #7
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cheers guys I will start building a new model using the info you provided.

Cheers
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.