Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-05-2010, 08:18 AM   #1
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Using A Controller With Maya

I found some cool apps online that let you connect game controllers to your pc so you can play your games with them. One neat feature is that you can configure your controller sticks to move as a mouse so you can actually use your pc with the controller. Unfortunately the xbox/ps3 drivers are for Windows only.

To use a 360 or Dualshock controller you have to download 2 things :

the DS3 tool that has the driver that lets Windows actually use the things -->

http://www.motioninjoy.com/download (Tutorial included there)

And a config program called xpadder --> (If you're using a normal usb controller (like logitech or something) then this is app all you need.)

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/.../Xpadder.shtml

Here is an xpadder tut to get you going -->

http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2007/...-keyboard.html

It's very easy after the first time you do it. If you're using a normal usb controller then you can pretty much ignore all this other stuff.

Even though the DS3 tool has it's own config thing in the "custom" menu, it only works when you're connected to the internet. :headbang: So it's better to turn on the Ds3 tool so windows can see your controller and then open xpadder to set up your configuration.

One thing to remember is that to turn on the analog sticks you have to go to OPTIONS and then click ENABLE OPTION. I attached a pic so you can see it.

After all the boring installation stuff, you can start mapping your Maya shortcuts to your controller which is pretty cool. On my DS3 I mapped my right stick as the mouse and use the face buttons as the transform tools.

Have fun!
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 07:04 PM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

very interesting. I bought a 360 controller to try and use on my pc for CoD a while back, never succeeded, maybe I'll see if I can do this... if not I'll try with my ps3 controller.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2010, 12:18 AM   #3
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

I've never liked xpadder. For some reason it always managed to save the controller layout (how many buttons/axis it has) but not the configuration of said buttons/axis...

I tried maya with my logitech dual action ages ago using the logitech profiler to set it up, it was fucn for a bit... But the novelty wears off as you realise how hard it is to be precise :p
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2010, 07:12 AM   #4
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by acid44
I've never liked xpadder. For some reason it always managed to save the controller layout (how many buttons/axis it has) but not the configuration of said buttons/axis...

I tried maya with my logitech dual action ages ago using the logitech profiler to set it up, it was fucn for a bit... But the novelty wears off as you realise how hard it is to be precise :p
Lol yeah. :bandit:

I gotta try it with zbrush though. Can't wait for that;
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:10 PM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I used a command line tool a while back to do the same thing. You interfaced with it through mel. At the studio I was working at the time, we used it to animate cars driving around for a project we had. Lots of fun.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:29 AM   #6
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Rhetoric Camel
very interesting. I bought a 360 controller to try and use on my pc for CoD a while back, never succeeded, maybe I'll see if I can do this... if not I'll try with my ps3 controller.
I tried that with Crysis awhile back, it worked pretty much prefectly, I cant remember the name of the program, but it was sweet, if you ever try again just good xbox controller PC crysis, or something like that.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.