Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-06-2010, 02:30 PM   #1
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Codec - Cyber Dog tutorials

Hi

I used to be able to watch these rigging tutorials from the archive.

Now using Win 7 64Bit amd the audio does not work. Tried a number of diffeent players.

Any ideas guys on how to resolve this?

Cheers
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 03:14 PM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

VLC didn't play it? Download DivX if you don't have it.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 04:15 PM   #3
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No luck with VLC player either getting...

No suitable decoder module:
VLC does not support the audio or video format "undf". Unfortunately there is no way for you to fix this.
No suitable decoder module:
VLC does not support the audio or video format "MSS1". Unfortunately there is no way for you to fix this.



Similar error messages with other players.
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 07:16 PM   #4
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

try re encoding it using Vdub with something like the ffdshow codec.


G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 08:22 PM   #5
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the suggestion...vDub not interested in opening files
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 12:48 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Have you got Nero Scar???? I find it plays almost anything.

If I have had trouble with audio or its been dubbed etc etc I have used SolveigMM AVI Trimmer, you can see what audio is in there etc and play with it.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 08:25 AM   #7
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by bullet1968
Have you got Nero Scar???? I find it plays almost anything.

If I have had trouble with audio or its been dubbed etc etc I have used SolveigMM AVI Trimmer, you can see what audio is in there etc and play with it.

cheers bullet
Thanks again for the suggestion, this wont open any of the files either. I downloaded them again just incase I ha introduced some errors during the first download.

Anybody else able to use these tutorials under Win 7 - 64bit?

Cheers
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 09:03 AM   #8
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I got this on the MS website mate, dont know if it helps?

I installed a missing codec, but I still can't play the file. Why?

Codecs can be written for 32-bit or 64-bit operating systems. If you are running a 64-bit version of Windows, you need to install 64-bit codecs. If you install a 32-bit codec on a 64-bit operating system, for example, the Player might not be able to play any files that require that codec.

Note that many older codecs are only available in 32-bit versions. If the codec provider does not specify whether its codec is 32-bit or 64-bit, the codec is likely 32-bit. For more information, contact the codec provider.


cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 09:48 AM   #9
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by bullet1968
I got this on the MS website mate, dont know if it helps?

I installed a missing codec, but I still can't play the file. Why?

Codecs can be written for 32-bit or 64-bit operating systems. If you are running a 64-bit version of Windows, you need to install 64-bit codecs. If you install a 32-bit codec on a 64-bit operating system, for example, the Player might not be able to play any files that require that codec.

Note that many older codecs are only available in 32-bit versions. If the codec provider does not specify whether its codec is 32-bit or 64-bit, the codec is likely 32-bit. For more information, contact the codec provider.


cheers bullet
Cheers, mate. Will see if I can get these to work on my 32 bit laptop.
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 09:56 AM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

No worries mate
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 01:29 PM   #11
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Found this as well mate, dont know if it will helpP

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...ion-of-Windows
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 01:36 PM   #12
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

With excitement I followed the steps..but alas, no.

Will let you know if laptop works

Cheers, mate.
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 02:33 PM   #13
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

bugger!!!!!!!!!!! sorry mate, it was worth the shot. Bedtime, lots of Surveying to do and only 6 hours sleeeepppp.............zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:zzz:
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 02:39 PM   #14
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by bullet1968
bugger!!!!!!!!!!! sorry mate, it was worth the shot. Bedtime, lots of Surveying to do and only 6 hours sleeeepppp.............zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:zzz:
Sleep well and wake refreshed!!!
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2010, 03:17 PM   #15
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thanks mate,

Im never refreshed....I wish. Its 2200 Ive been up (as usual) since 0500, worked all day and have only just finished a DTM of an estate for volume calcs. Man Maya might seem hard but when you have roads, creeks, building pads etc etc etc aaarrrrrrrrrrr what a bitch. Then the Survey software crashes because of the amount of points it needs to calc this stuff aaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I have just used the feeble 3D view to check my model, bits were missing in the mesh so I fixed it and it made a 7000m3 difference in the volume!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! @ $10 per cube = $70 000!!!! I really hate my job......................

night mate....be good (or good enough not to get caught..bahaha). Hope you find a solution..I will keep looking but I think unless you find a converter (which probably doesnt exist) you might be done?? I will see (if you havent already) if you can actually burn or rip into 64 bit??? from a 32 bit??

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tutorials you'd like to see David Simply Maya Tutorials 131 09-08-2016 04:39 AM
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.