Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-07-2010, 09:58 PM   #1
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Windows 7 64/32 bit and Maya

Hi Guys,

I was thinking about upgrading to Windows 7 and was wondering how compatiable it is with any of the Maya versions.

I'm thinking about upgrading to Maya 2011 64 bit, but might be running windows 7 32 bit.

Or should I just upgrade to windows 7 64 bit ?

Which should be the most reliable combination? Thanks!
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I'm fairly sure you can't run a 64-bit app on a 32-bit OS. What 64-bit means is you can access a larger quantity of RAM for the program. If you've got a 64-bit system, sure, install Maya 64-bit. Out of curiousity, how much RAM do you have?

I run Win 7 64-bit and Maya 2009 64-bit, seems good for the most part.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 02:25 AM   #3
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I'm already aware of what 64 bit means. I have under the 4 gigs of ram. The maximum 3.25 gig of rams windows xp 32 bit can recognize.

I haven't ran 64 bit OS's yet because I'm afraid of incompatibility among other softwares/drivers I use for multiple items.

So now I'm just curious how it works for those of you, who do you use it.

Last edited by Anhslaught : 11-07-2010 at 02:35 AM.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 02:36 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

i am running a dual boot system with Win XP pro 32 bit and Win 7 64 bit..Im not sure if it's just me but i have to say Maya 2011 runs smoother and faster on the xp than it does for me on win 7 .Obviously the 64 bit is better for things like simulations ect where ram is needed but for general modeling i prefer the xp as i dont like the slight delay i get with win7.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:14 PM   #5
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Im running windows 7 64 with Maya 2011 64 and its running like a dream
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 08:13 PM   #6
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You guys happen to know if Maya crashing is caused by videocards?

I have a fireGL v5000 and my room is pretty hot. I bought a ATI HD4850, but my room temp can't handle it anymore as it keeps dying.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 02:17 AM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

if its summer buy a cooling fan and aim it at the computer.., if its winter.., buy a new computer..,
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:37 AM   #8
mpk1058@gmail.com
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can i install maya32bit on windows7-64bit
mpk1058@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 06:42 AM   #9
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

.., absolutely
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:14 PM   #10
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I've heard a few people say WinXP has a snappier reaction and I can believe that can happen in some cases due to hardware configs. However I'm running 2011 on Win7 and its all babycakes.

Maya crashes can be video card related. The hotter hardware gets, the slower it gets, until it gets to a point where it starts to malfunction. There's a min and max temp under which they should operate, if the room is nice and cool for you then its fine for the pc.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 12:00 AM   #11
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

i run both XP and Windows 7 and Xp is definitely snappier but if you didn't have both to compare i doubt you would really notice that much.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 12:34 AM   #12
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

im running both.., windows 7 is bloated.., feels that way. XP has run for years no probs while 7 is a drag.., literally; it can be a drag waiting for response.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:20 AM   #13
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

I am running both 2008 32 bit and 2011 64 bit on Win 7, they are both running great, no problems from either version

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 04:07 PM   #14
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I think if you ve a 64bit processor you should use 64bit operating system with 64bit programs.
I had 32bit windows 7 with 32bit maya... i had to save every 30minutes not to lose my progress It crash like 10times a day.

now with 64 bit everything crashes like once or twice a months....



(amd 4core, ati 4serie & maya 2009)
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.