Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-08-2010, 07:40 AM   #1
Registered User
ColdWave's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default ATI and maya

is ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5650 (HDMI) Good for maya .... I have very good offer for a laptop with that Card ?
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 02:34 PM   #2
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
Mayaniac's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts

I wouldn't go anywhere near ATI if you want to use Maya. Maya generally runs bad with ATI. Radeons are gaming cards to begin with, so they're no built for running OpenGl very well. That said, a lot of people use gaming cards (mostly geforce, ATI really doesn't like Maya) and they have no issues.

And just to make the point about how bad ATI are with Maya, I recently purchased an ATI FirePro card from them- a workstation card specifically designed to handle OpenGL and 3D/CAD applications, and Maya was unusable on in.

So, to be honest, I would rather buy an Nvidia (or laptop with Nvidia) for £500 over the equivalent ATI (or laptop with ATI) for £200!!!

So, in short, no I don't think ATI are very good cards for running Maya.

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 03:46 PM   #3
gster123's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts

Ive got to hold my hands up and say that I use a ATI in my PC at home and its pretty damm good to be honest, runs everything I can throw at it, then again I think that I'm the only person who does not have a problem!

I would generally recommend Gforces
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #4
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
tweetytunes's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts

ATI are utter crap - Had one when I started using 3d in 2001 it was rubbish then - just got a new £1000 PC with a 1.5 gig ATI HD 5450 and its still SHIT.

Games run slow, Maya will not use reference images with a working alpha gain and the display become very unstable at times.

As soon as I have the money - going back to nvidia
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 07:56 PM   #5
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
mastone's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts

It depends, if you use the laptop only when your on the road just buy it, if it is something you really gonna rely on each and everyday I wouldn't buy it.
Hardware wise all these cards are the same when it comes to drivers ATI screws up to much.

mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 09:31 PM   #6
Registered User
ColdWave's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

Sure i'll not buy it ! I had an Nvidia 7600 go on my old laptop and it was gr8 no problems with it .. so i'll stay with Nvidia standart
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2010, 08:18 AM   #7
halfloaf's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

Not that it's completely topic related, but on the Mac side it's the opposite way round, ATI has better OpenGL support while nvidia have rather rubbish drivers.

But yeah, nvidia do tend to have better high end driver support on their cards for Windows and Linux.

halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2010, 03:38 AM   #8
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

no idea.

I use a nvidia quadro in my desktop and a ati v5200 in my workstation laptop.

I've had two issues, one that remains a constant for the however long i've had it.. <? 2 years?> the only issue I had with the ATI in my laptop was.... finding drivers I liked. and the only maya related issue ive ran into is when I use NURBS and goto add a Isoparm.. the redline stays after i move the isoparm to where i want to place it. so I end up with 5000 red lines of where the Isoparm has moved back and forth until i place it.

it certainly doesn't compare to your laptops video card in power but it does the trick.

hope this helps. better yet. I would recommend installing maya on the beast and having a go at it for like 20 minz or something of that nature. be sure to take your profect folders so you can open things faster and make sure image planes and other stuff like that appear.

oh.. btw the ATI V5200 is a workstation card.. not a gaming card.. so.. that probably matters.

good luck with your buy!
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2010, 07:36 AM   #9
Lifetime Member
bullet1968's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts

Hi Coldwave.....I know bugger all about PC's but I havent had a good time with Nvidia when gaming. I upgraded to a new laptop

System Information
Time of this report: 8/19/2010, 15:30:07
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3
Language: English
System Manufacturer: Acer, inc.
System Model: TravelMate 7730G
BIOS: ZY2 v0.3636 3F36
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9550 @ 2.66GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 3036MB RAM
Page File: 691MB used, 4228MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

Display Devices
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 9600M GT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC

Display Memory: 512.0 MB
Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)

I havent had too many troubles with Maya YET. I am not advanced as most of the people here but not really any drama. It lags a bit if I have other stuff open and running..with high poly counts. I havent animated etc yet...I think it will probably die in the arse then..we shall see.

Good luck mate

cheers bullet

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2010, 07:01 PM   #10
Head of 3d Admedia
murambi's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts

Oh no i highly recommend nvidia no no to ati shitty drivers and its sad that they have started to outsell nvidia
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.