Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-01-2003, 10:47 PM   #1
nspiratn
Registered User
 
nspiratn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default render results : large file size?

I just rendered an animation of 1000 frames with a resolution of 320x240 , no ray tracing and low quality resolution.

And YET, the resulting .avi file turned out being about 300MB !!!!!!

Is there a way to make it smaller?


thanks,
__________________
~nspiratn
nspiratn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2003, 11:49 PM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

convert the file after that to divx or some other compression maybe?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 02:50 AM   #3
subnurbs
Registered User
 
subnurbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi nspiratn,
did u used any compression in the first place?
subnurbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 07:54 PM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

u might want to use a different image format, some formats like tga and tiif are pretty big in file size
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2003, 11:16 PM   #5
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maya's .avi render isnt very good.

You should render in image format and use free software like VideoMach (or use Premeir or After Effects if you have it) to combin these into a .avi. You'll get a smaller file size.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2003, 09:31 AM   #6
schmick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The reason it is so big is because it's uncompressed video.

To reduce it's filesize you'd have to encode it with a video codec.
schmick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.