Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-01-2003, 06:16 AM   #1
dkouts
Registered User
 
dkouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IK Handle Tool wont select joints???

Anyone ever encounter where you cant seem to click on
joints with the IK Handle tool to make ik bones?

Selection masks etc on the status line seem to be OK, Im
not stuck in component mode or anything and I can select
the joints with the move tool etc, just not the IK Handle Tool...

Anyone encounter this?

Daniel
dkouts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 08:52 AM   #2
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in the show dropdown (from the viewport) click on show all to make sure nothing is hidden there and try again. I've had the same problem before too
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 05:19 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I've also run into this before. When it happens to me, usually clicking in an orthographic view works.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 05:20 PM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Or just use the hypergraph =)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 01:06 PM   #5
Jim
Registered User
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ik selection of bones prob

Hi there,

I had this problem when I had Set Driven Key elements already in the scene that I was now trying to apply IK handles to bones to.

Maybe use hypergraph. Or conversely, export skeleton (as Maya binary) and IK in new scene then merge back to original scene.

re Jim
__________________
Mayan elder......only in years.....
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 07:58 PM   #6
Belo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default joint issues solved

Hi everyone, I just solved the same problem, I can't select and move any joint in my project.
To solve this problem just be sure to activate joint icon in this bar:

https://it.pinterest.com/pin/416231190540875074/


cheers

www.ampviewer.com
Belo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.