Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Tank treads, lattice and grouping issue

Hi all,

First post here. I'm a relative newbie with Maya, been learning for roughly 8 months so I may be missing something very simple. I've just finished modelling a robot and after scouring the net I decided to follow this tutorial for making the tank treads on the robot:

Seemed like the best solution for me without having to delve into any scripting or nCloth. Will only be used for forward/backward motion. This worked fine on the first tread but then when I came to grouping and then duplicating I've run into a few issues. When trying to move the 2nd set of treads over to the other side I'm getting double translations. I'm not sure whether I should be grouping everything (the track objects, the nurb circles and the lattice) and then moving the whole group or moving the lattice? If anyone has any experience with this tutorial I'd really appreciate any help?


the_rabbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2011, 07:45 PM   #2
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

i have followed this tutorial and it worked for me. It takes alot to make it look "realistic" and find a new way to do this if your are a perfectionist because you will never get it perfect with this setup because of the lattice.

The lattice will stretch or shrink your geometry which I found unsuitable to me except for cartoon tracks or something quick.

However, for your issue, make sure before you duplicate to delete history and group.

select the group > duplicate and then everything should translate the same.
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ataraxy For This Useful Post:
Old 26-07-2011, 08:00 PM   #3
The thin red line
daverave's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,468
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts

I found using the create animation snapshot was better for me........dave

Edit:Should have add theres a free tutorial on this site by ctbram (free friday)

Avatar Challenge Winner 2010

Last edited by daverave : 26-07-2011 at 08:11 PM.
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.