Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-03-2011, 05:57 AM   #1
Becko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Subdivisions aren't working

I'm not being able to manipulate the object's subdivisions. Basically when I click on the object's name "pCubeShape1" under "SHAPES" section instead of getting the subdivisions parameters I just get the "pCubeShape1" text highlighted without any subdivisions parameters as shown on the image below:



Please, I need someone to help me fix this problem, so I can have access to the subdivisions.

Thanks

Last edited by Becko : 28-03-2011 at 06:03 AM. Reason: missing information
Becko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Becko For This Useful Post:
Old 28-03-2011, 07:26 AM   #2
Becko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default I found the solution

ok so just to let you guys know, I found the solution,

My frist mistake was to google the problem as "maya subdivision not showing", I found out that my problem were not subdivision but missing "INPUTS" so I googled the issue as "INPUTS not showing in maya"

and found this solution:

Quit Maya
Then you have to find your prefs folder in maya 2009 and delete it
When you restart maya it will start with its default settings
I cant tell you where to find it on windows cause I use a mac for me its
user/library/preferences/autodesk/maya/2009/prefs
If your worried about deleting a folder just move it to eg: desktop so you can always replace it if you need
Hope this helps
source: http://forums.tutorialized.com/maya-...ox-172081.html

Basically the only thing needed to fix this was to delete the "prefs" folder and now is working, I though this was needed to be posted here for any further reference regarding the same issue.

Cheers
Becko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Becko For This Useful Post:
Old 28-03-2011, 07:59 AM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Deleting your preferences is kind of a drastic move this. You didn't have construction history on so Maya didn't keep track of what you've been doing to the obj.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Gen For This Useful Post:
bullet1968 (28-03-2011), David (28-03-2011)
Old 28-03-2011, 05:25 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Post #6 in the FAQs... http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35308

Last edited by stwert : 28-03-2011 at 05:43 PM.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
David (28-03-2011)
Old 28-03-2011, 06:39 PM   #5
Becko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GecT View Post
Deleting your preferences is kind of a drastic move this. You didn't have construction history on so Maya didn't keep track of what you've been doing to the obj.
Thanks for the info, next tine I'll know the solution is just one icon click and not a folder-delete action.
Becko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Becko For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arrrg! what did I do? W, R, E, suddenly not working! KaisoArt Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 24-03-2011 04:05 PM
Painting weights stopped working PaperMoon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-03-2011 01:00 PM
reflection tool not working choo Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-03-2011 09:49 AM
Subdivision Problem RobboUK Technical Issues 12 06-03-2011 03:41 PM
booleans not working chilledoutredhead Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-02-2011 10:03 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.