Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-02-2003, 02:16 AM   #1
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Help with Shaders, Plz?

Is there a tut. that describes what shaders do, and how exactly how they work? Ive seen shaders around, and they look really cool, but I havent the slighest clue on how to use them. Thnx for any help.
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 02:26 AM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

not a tut, but you can try in the tut section of the board
basically, you have your geomettry (model) and all a shader is, is something which gives your model a colour, or a texture if you will eg. you model a box, you apply a brick type shader (which is just a simple image file) and it looks like a brick wall
but using a simple image file wouldnt be enough as that would just give your wall a colour, you would need to create a bump map, which makes the bricks on the wall stand out, and the cement stick inwards

all of this put together, everything thats added to the model to give it a texture, is called a shader

hope i havent confused you, its half 2 in the morning sorry
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 02:39 AM   #3
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Tnx for the info Nem, but thats not really what I meant, althought you did clear up a few things I was wondering about. I should have been abit more clear. Im talking about the (filename).ma shader files. Theres shaders that comes with Maya, and theyre under the AW/ShaderLibrary directory. Agian, sorry for not being clear.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 02:47 AM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Middle mouse drag one of those files to the top section of Hypershade. You can either drag the shader onto an object or select the object then right-click the shader and select "assign material to selection" to apply it to an object.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 04:04 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I've got a little Hypershade tutorial at my site if interested. Goes over basic materials and what a shader is.

Good luck!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 11:49 AM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ohhhhhh
theyre pretty easy as well, just open up hypershade, go to file>import then select the .ma/.mb shader file you have
it should appear in the top part of your hypershade window (this is for downloaded shaders)
the ones you're talking about (comes with maya) to use them in the bottom part of your hypershade window there are 2 tabs, one called "Work area" and another called "shader library" click on the second tab and all ur shaders are in there
then do what darkware said, middle click drag into the top, then assign it to a model
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 04:30 PM   #7
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

mtmckinley: your tut. helped me out a BUNCH! I finally know how to make transparencys. Thnx.

Darkware/Nem: Thnx for the help. This place, and the guys here are great.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.