Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-02-2003, 09:51 AM   #1
Calvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Rendering as .RPF?

Hi folks.

Does anyone know of a way, plug-in scritp or whatever, to get maya to render .RPF (Rich Pixel Format) images, the format 3DS MAX uses??

Calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 11:58 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Couldn't you use .rla? Can't remember which is which but aren't .rpf and .rla almost the same?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 01:23 AM   #3
Calvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I think they're similar, yeah but I'm after the one which has Z-depth information that Combustion can recognize. It's a cool feature where you can place any footage in your rendered 3d scene without having to double-up layers and mask anything out. Unfortunately I don't think Combustion recognizes .IFF's Z-depth information.

I talked to a guy representing Combustion and he said that Alias/Wavefront was in negotiation with Discreet to have Maya be able to Render .RPF's, but that's gomna be a while yet, maybe version 5.0. He did say that there was a plug-in somewhere out there that can make it happen now though.

Calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 04:47 PM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ive been asking this same question for ages cos i think maya would really benefit from a link with combustion
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.