Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-02-2003, 12:01 AM   #1
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ultra Newbie question

Was watching the Free Tutorials and decided to follow allong, only problem is that in the viedo the interface shows File, Create, Modify, Edit Polygons, Polygons, Edit Curves, Edit Nurbs, and so on. Whereas mine has the default settings I suppose; Particles, Fields, Soft/Rigid, Effects. How do I add these for quick usage? Using Maya Unlimited 4.0.
Thanks

-adrian
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 01:15 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

If I understand you correctly, you are looking for the dropdown menu in the upper-left hand corner. That switches you between the different infaces.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 02:18 AM   #3
dbirider
Registered User
 
dbirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

also, im pretty sure that the hotkey to choose different menues is left mouse click and H ... then just chose modelling (if thats what you need to do)

__________________
Visit http://pokeronamac.com for details about Mac compatible poker rooms
dbirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 02:31 AM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can also use F2-F5 on your keyboard to switch menu sets.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 11:53 PM   #5
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

One more thing. Say that I am in the Persp view and I want to see the other side of an object how do I do that?
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 12:05 AM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tap the spacebar
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 12:38 AM   #7
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No not that. I mean like...rotating I guess. How do I rotate while in a view?

AND if I right click and hold I get these options; Edge, Face, UV etc.
But sometimes in the tuts i see a box that says AIW and to the left it says Recent Commands and to the right it says Hotbox Controls. Above that it says View, Shading, Lighting, Show, Panels. Below it says Animate, Deform, Skeleton, Skin, Constrain, Character. I've seen this in the Free Tut Skeletons Part 1 @ 0:01:10 mark. How do I bring that up?
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 12:54 AM   #8
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK......
Rotate: Alt+RMB (EDIT: you can only rotate persp view)
Pan: MMB
Zoom: Alt+RMB+MMB (Alt+RMB also works but only in 4.5)

About the options.....
Right click a object with the mouse to get Edge, Face...etc

Hold down the spacebar to get the hotbox. The hotbox contains menu's File, Edit...etc. You can also add the Modelling, Animation, Rendering & Dynamics set menus.

Anything else...


__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 12-02-2003 at 01:02 AM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 01:08 AM   #9
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot z1. Was holding down the spacebar for awhile and nothing happened. So then I right clicked and saw Hotbox, right clicked that and now what i wanted pops up when i hold the spacebar. Thanks! Just learned of the F1 Help from a past thread.

-adrian
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.