Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-02-2003, 12:17 PM   #1
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Can't get shatter to work

Alright guys, this is my time of need. I can't figure out how to get this stupid thing to work right. No matter what I do, I can never get anything to work. There are three different kinds of shatter effects and none of them work for me. It's Dynamics Menu>Effects>Shatter. Any tutorials, short faqs, and general knowledge about this would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 12:28 PM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, I figured it out. You have to delete history on the object. Why doesn't the friggin' help faq tell you this?! Do you know how long I've been trying to get this to work?! My gosh. I figured this out when I decided to read the script editor to see the details of the error I was getting, which is something I rarely do. I was going to delete this thread, but I apparently don't have the authorization to delete my own posts.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 12:49 PM   #3
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

New question: Is there a way to animate these shards with dynamics without having them intersect each other all the time? If I apply a gravity field to them they fall fine, but when they crash into the ground, I get an array of errors.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 03:56 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

You can turn the error off in the command line using the mel that the errors give you....

Also, I believe you can turn collisions off as well, but I'm not in fromt of Maya right now, so I can't remember where you'd find that setting per shard.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 04:14 PM   #5
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default LOL

Gee, that what I do in java programing. If I get an error, i just coment out the thing giving me an error. Who needs to fix it anyway.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM
SimplyMaya 2010 - Community Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 8 01-12-2010 05:28 PM
Saw II work mtmckinley Finished Work 8 16-11-2010 01:33 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.