Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-02-2003, 04:48 AM   #1
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help

Can anybody tell me how i creat an environment variable an set it to 1? thats for solve the problem of MR nodes and shaders dont appear in the hipershade and other places beyond knowledge!

THX
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 05:55 AM   #2
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Do you have to use the Maya env. or set a system variable? Explain specifically what the problem is and hopefully we can help you out

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 07:16 PM   #3
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its because of MR! I have to do it for the Mr shaders and nodes to be avaiable!!

THX Darkon
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 04:24 AM   #4
Jozvex
Registered User
 
Jozvex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Englar, all you need to do is add the line:

MAYA_MRFM_SHOW_CUSTOM_SHADERS = 1

to your Maya.env file. You can find that file at:

\documents and settings\username\maya\4.5\

Then restart Maya!
Jozvex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 02:14 PM   #5
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HEY, thanks a lot for your tip Jozvex!! Ill test it right now!!
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 02:22 PM   #6
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:dIT WORKED:d

THX A LOT JOZVEX
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2003, 08:30 AM   #7
dexter10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Apeldoorn, Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It works, but the icons seem to be missing.
dexter10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2003, 01:15 PM   #8
Jozvex
Registered User
 
Jozvex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, weird.

Instead you can add that line to your system's environment by going:

1. Right click on My Computer and go to Properties
2. Go to the Advanced tab
3. Click on Environment Variables
4. Down in the System Variables section, click New
5. Put the line MAYA_MRFM_SHOW_CUSTOM_SHADERS into the Variable Name slot
6. Then just put the number 1 into the Variable Value slot

Then restart your computer. That may fix it for you.

Oh but I think you should take that line out of the Maya Environment file if you do it this other way.
Jozvex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2003, 04:21 PM   #9
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

THE ICONS? You mean the GI_Joe icon on the shelf?
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 08:51 AM   #10
dexter10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Apeldoorn, Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not the Gi_Joe icons, but the Mental Ray Icons for Shaders and nodes in the Create Texture nodes.
dexter10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 02:27 PM   #11
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jozvex
Englar, all you need to do is add the line:

MAYA_MRFM_SHOW_CUSTOM_SHADERS = 1

to your Maya.env file. You can find that file at:

\documents and settings\username\maya\4.5\

Then restart Maya!
Have you tryed this? It solved my problem!
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 10:00 AM   #12
dexter10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Apeldoorn, Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually, I could see the nodes but the icons were missing in the public beta. Or I didn't install it properly.

With MR 1.5.1 all is well with the change to the Maya.env file. Icons and all.

Seems a touch faster as well, but that could be my imagination.

By the way, anyone know what the "contour shader nodes" do?
dexter10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 12:59 PM   #13
englar
Subscriber
 
englar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coimbra, PORTUGAL
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry dexter , i cant help you on that one!
__________________
jesus loves you!
englar is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.