Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-02-2003, 07:19 PM   #1
zipbobang
Registered User
 
zipbobang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default :::Command Feedback line--?:::

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and maya, but not new to 3D. Anyway I'm poly modeling a character in MAYA 4.5 and I keep seeing this message when simply selecting and moving a vertex, edge or face.

Warning: pCubeShape1 (Mesh Node): Tweaks can be undesirable on shapes with history.

I can undo the move that prompted that message and redo the exact same move and I don't get the message. Can anyone tell me what may be causing this, and if it really matters?

I can't seem to isolate what is actually prompting the message, becuase I'm only doing some very basic modeling.

Can I turn off the "history", and if so what is the up or downside of doing so.

Thanks,
Chad
__________________
chadmount.com
zipbobang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 08:30 PM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can ignore that warning. It shows up every once in a while when you're tweaking meshes. All it means is that if a shape has a history, your tweaks might not turn out the way you'd expect them to. Simple way to get around it is delete the history on your shape and then continue modeling. I have yet to encounter any instance where this causes a problem.

You can turn off history if you want. The upside is your file size will be smaller, and there is less chance of you getting weird errors because of something in the history. The downside is you can't go back and make changes to previous steps in the history. To use Max terminology, it would be like collapsing the modfier stack after every modifier and tweak you apply. I usually just delete the shapes history every so often as I work.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 08:35 PM   #3
zipbobang
Registered User
 
zipbobang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh I see...collapsing right well that's good everyonce and awhile as long as I specify it. Cool thanks danny.

So how do I turn it off or better yet delete it?

-chad
__________________
chadmount.com
zipbobang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 08:42 PM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

To turn it off, click the Construction History button in the top toolbar. It looks like a little script icon.

To delete the history on an object, go to Edit > Delete by Type > History.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2003, 10:47 PM   #5
zipbobang
Registered User
 
zipbobang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

simple enough...thanks!
__________________
chadmount.com
zipbobang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 03:18 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yeah, I usually think of it as such:

Warning - "Just so you know, this might happen...." kinda thing.

Error - Something's messed up!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2003, 08:59 PM   #7
zipbobang
Registered User
 
zipbobang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right...yeah at first I ignored it until I found some faces on the inside Z plane of my model that I didn't put there. That area should have been completely hollow, cause by this point I had only begun to reshape a box after deleting half and mirroring it. I hadn't cut or sculpted any poly's so I'm still confused as to how these additional faces came to be.

Anyway I figuire it probably had something to do with that error, because after all those were undesirable results =) I still have much to learn about this tool.

-c
__________________
chadmount.com
zipbobang is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.