Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-03-2003, 05:35 AM   #1
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default modelings w/ nurbs cylinders

ok.. a few questions about nurbs and hopefully you guys can help me out a little bit. Lets say that I was modeling an object and I was starting it off with a nurbs cylinder. After i tweak all of my vertices... what would be a good solution to "capping" one of the ends of the cylinder. And after capping the end, would i stitch that end to the main body or attach it, so i can properly move the combine pieces together. Any response would be very appreciated. Thanks
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 06:05 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

a screenshot of some kind might help us visualize what you're asking...
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 09:21 PM   #3
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1) ok.. how would i go about filling in this gap at the end of the nurbs cylinder? or what are the better ways to do it?


2) and after closing it up.. should i attach the "fill in" with nurbs>attach or nurbs>stitch???? If i wanted it(the fill in) to move correctly with the main body.

I hope you understand what i'm asking for?

(one more question? how do you render something out just for wireframe? know how to do it in max.. not maya)
sorry and thanks
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 03:06 PM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

1.) When you first create the cylinder, select the option box. This will allow you to create it with caps on both ends, caps just on the top or bottom, or none at all.

2.) If you're trying to stitch it to something else, such as a leg to a body, don't cap it at all. You just want to make sure you have your isoparms matched up. Check out the arm stitching tutorial here at SM or the tuts at MtMckinley's site (his url is in his signature) in the above post.

3.) As far as rendering out in wireframe, you might want to look at this thread:

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...ight=wireframe.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 03:18 PM   #5
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Even though Nitroliq´s explanation is excellent, I wouldn´t advise capping it with planar surfaces. I remember having lots of trouble with that. I remember there was a way of duplicating that last Isoparm, and then scaling it down closing the gap till whatever measure turns you on.

Hope it helps,
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 03:30 PM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Yeah there's a thread on the SM boards somewhere on closing the end of an airplane wing that goes over the same technique.....insert a couple of isoparms towards the end and scale inward. Really, it just depends on the situation as far as what to do, though. If you're stitching, I wouldn't start with caps at all since it's just a part of whole. If you DO need to use caps, build the cylinder with caps at the time of creation....ADL, is right....planar trims can be a drag to work with i(especially if you have to translate the cylinder in some way).
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 05:22 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...?threadid=2120
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.