Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-03-2003, 04:11 AM   #1
phalcon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mirroring automatic updating?

Is there anyway to set up one side of a sub-d head to mirrror onto the other side and reflect the changes that are made to the original side of the head even after the mirroring takes place. IE, both sides of the head are affected by moving the components on the one side.

Any clues?
phalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 04:51 AM   #2
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I dunno if this will do but have u seen the Maya 4 Fundementals book? It kinda has what u are looking for, except rather than it being sub divs, its actually sub div emulation. U manipuate the low poly cage's vertices and see the results on a high poly mesh. Its pretty nifty.
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 06:07 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Sounds like you want an instance. Duplicate your model with instance checked in the duplicate options. Scale it -1 in the scale direction you wish to mirror across.

One thing that's important is to delete the instance when you're ready to put the two shapes together and duplicate a new one without instance in the options.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 07:46 PM   #4
phalcon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks again....mtmckinley...you rock.
phalcon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.