Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-03-2003, 11:16 AM   #1
NoTalent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Question !

I have this headmodel (Human), and I want give it a mask. Is it possible to 'snap' this mask to the headmodel (surface to surface) or do I have to put every vertex in to place. Looked in the manual, but didn't find a solution for this matter

Bye the way, its a polyhead.

Chris
NoTalent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2003, 06:56 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

the closest thing i can think of it match topology which is a subd thing
you can always just duplicate the head and delete what you dont want
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 12:18 PM   #3
Jim
Registered User
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

YOu could try using either of two methods,

Use the snap to points option>

select both models and go into component mode (points) for both models> then select the model (mask) and use the snap to points function (hold down V while in translate mode).

Make the head model live (make live under modify menu) and draw poly's directly on the mesh that way.

Hope this helps
re jim
__________________
Mayan elder......only in years.....
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2003, 02:55 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

When I created a mask for my old hero character, I duplicated faces from the head and extruded them out.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2003, 10:34 PM   #5
NoTalent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanx y'all, gonna try out these options.

Chris
NoTalent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2003, 01:02 AM   #6
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

select the faces and duplicate and then modify the duplicated faces.. thats the way i would do it

.:Edit

din't see mike's post... sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesh..!
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2003, 02:30 PM   #7
NoTalent
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks any way, I can use all the input I can get
NoTalent is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.